Saturday, March 26, 2011

Facebook Security Issue

a family member is having a security issue on Facebook I can not find an answer for and he is only a teenager, so we are concerned. Recently he found that someone had created a fake profile of him, including using his photos and information. Each time we click on Report, another profile pops up. The unique issue is that a search of him on any other computer shows only his profile. On his computer however, all of the profiles are currently visible (There are about 6). Is this a malware/spyware issue with his particular laptop or something else? any thoughts?

Samsung 3D Plasma TV C680 Discontinued?

I wanted to purchase the Samsung 58" C680 Plasma TV and went to Samsung web site to research, but it's not there. Samsung Support Rep said this model is no longer in production. I believe the 680 series just came out end of 2010, so it was only on the market for a few months. Can anyone confirm its discontinuance? Were there issues with this model? It was touted to be one of the first affordable 3D TVs. I can still buy it today, but not sure I want to now. Thanks.

Reply 1 : Samsung 3D Plasma TV C680 Discontinued?

Like..
Problem getting that sized glass.
Production problems.
Not selling good so they canned it.

Also new models are coming out very soon.

It is a Samsuck so no loss.

Reply 2 : Samsung 3D Plasma TV C680 Discontinued?

Also, it would help if you actually used the correct model number.

http://www.google.com/search?q=+Samsung+58%22+C680&tbs=shop%3A1&aq=f#sclient=psy&hl=en&tbs=shop:1&q=Samsung+PN58C680&aq=&aqi=&aql=&oq=&pbx=1&fp=2f8600e9b07b0cdc

Reply 3 : Samsung 3D Plasma TV C680 Discontinued?

Thanks for the response, but I had no trouble finding this Samsung TV model for sale. Rather, my question was - do they still make this model? It cannot be found on the Samsung web site, and the Samsung service rep informed me that it was no longer in production. Since it was only introduced at the end of 2010, if they did already discontinue it, why? I may but it anyway.

Reply 4 : Samsung 3D Plasma TV C680 Discontinued?

Not sure where you have been regarding electronics in North America for the last five or six years. Models are regularly replaced, even less than one year. If one of their reps says it's no longer in production, an HDTV from aug. 2010, mind you, that's probably a good sign that something else is in the pipeline.

FWIW, you likely did not enter the complete model number. Sammy is fussy about that.

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/PN58C680G5F

Reply 5 : Samsung 3D Plasma TV C680 Discontinued?

I did find their support info for the C680, thanks. I thought it was odd to discontinue since the 7000 and 8000 models were still in production when introduced earlier. They did not promote the C680 and now its discontinued, although it did get good reviews. I want a large screen for lower price with good quality 2D picture,(3D is not needed, but OK if included). I can get the LG 60" PK550 for $1,300, but the picture not as nice as Samsung c680. Also, it does not have anti-glare and high energy use.

Reply 6 : Samsung 3D Plasma TV C680 Discontinued?

The C 680 has been replaced by the PN550 series plasmas.

confused on being asked to upgrade IE 8 / IE9

I recently bought a laptop with Windows 7 Premium and I keep getting asked to change to Explorer 8 and recently Explorer 9, don't know if I should treat this like a update or is something that they are going to want money so I never click on it, need your advice, please. Thanks Karen

Reply 1 : confused on being asked to upgrade IE 8 / IE9

Although Windows 7 should have had IE8 when it was released, the upgrade to IE9 is not required. IE9 came out of beta and was released in it's full release form about a week ago.. Whether you decide to install IE9, or not, it doesn't cost any money, and will probably be required in the future..

It should be possible to stop the IE9 update request by "hiding" the update when performing your next Windows Updates.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Friday, March 25, 2011

.dll missing from MS Works 3.0

I need wkslang.dll This computer is running Windows 3.1 Owner does not want to change {upgrade} program. Has none of original disks. Any ideas where I can find this .dll or a copy of MS Works 3.0?
Thanks,
B.K.

Reply 1 : .dll missing from MS Works 3.0

It's a simple issue. The owner doesn't own any of the software. They can complain all they wish but they don't have the disks.

Walk away from the pirate while you can. Think hard about this. Will you help someone break into a car? Yes, they will tell you it belongs to them.

Bob

Reply 2 : .dll missing from MS Works 3.0

I purchased Ms Works 3.0 in 1994, along with my 486 with 8 MB ram, with Windows 3.1

I had problems with mising Dlls some months ago after upgrading to win95 on a 166MHz 64 MB comp useing the same harddisk.

so I tried to installed Works properly but..

After all this time the floppy disks are damaged or something. Disks 2, 3 and 4 wont read.

Is there any place I can get/download Works 3.0 from?

kong

Reply 3 : .dll missing from MS Works 3.0

It is such an old program and operating system, finding a replacement may be difficult.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=41858&item=7129858542&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

Reply 4 : .dll missing from MS Works 3.0

Since I have it aldrady i was looking for the missing dlls actually.

1)Wksole.dll
and possibly others.

If the dlls are availabe for download from somewhere please send me the link.

kong

ps online purchase isnt option for me. If any one is willing to sell in the old fashioned way I'll cerainly make an offer.

Reply 5 : .dll missing from MS Works 3.0

the old fashion way. That program is so old, E-bay or some other online seller is your best bet. You can try a local computer store and see if they can locate a copy. You can also try doing a Google search for the particular .dll or .dlls in general. Maybe you will get lucky.

Reply 6 : .dll missing from MS Works 3.0

Thanks for the likns and advice but I have decided to instead run Works 7.0 on the system instead.

....Darn thing runs sluggishly and I had to upgrade to Win98

kong

storage for movies to watch on tv and network

im trying to find a storage for dvds,pictures,music and files that my tv can access movies and pic and my computers can access all the above

Reply 1 : storage for movies to watch on tv and network

What does the manual of the TV (you didn't tell which one) say about getting movies and pictures from a hard disk? It might even be able to play the music!

Kees

Reply 2 : storage for movies to watch on tv and network

its a sony bravia lcd model #kdl-4ove5 it has 7 hdmi 1 usb 2 rbg 2 rca 1 s-vidio and i dont have the manual

Reply 3 : storage for movies to watch on tv and network

I think it's kdl-40ve5 (zero), not kdl-4ove5 (small letter o).

Anyway, http://esupport.sony.com/perl/select-system.pl?DIRECTOR=DOCS&PRODTYPE=36&template_id=1®ion_id=1 lets you download the manual. I'm sure that will be a big help to select and use a disk drive.

Kees

Samsung 256GB SSD ATA Device PM800

I'm running a Crystal Disk Mark to behchmark my SSD performance and I'm only getting 203.3 MB/s Reads and 23.83 MB's Writes



Is that normal performance on a SSD?



I'm assuming my writes should be a bit higher right?



I've done my research and I do have TRIM enabled (whatever that is)



Should I call Dell for a replacement?

Reply 1 : Samsung 256GB SSD ATA Device PM800


Quote:








Originally Posted by Nivaku
View Post

I'm running a Crystal Disk Mark to behchmark my SSD performance and I'm only getting 203.3 MB/s Reads and 23.83 MB's Writes



Is that normal performance on a SSD?



I'm assuming my writes should be a bit higher right?



I've done my research and I do have TRIM enabled (whatever that is)



Should I call Dell for a replacement?



Check in BIOS if AHCI mode turned on.

Reply 2 : Samsung 256GB SSD ATA Device PM800

Well in my BIOS I can only choose from AHCI to ATA, and AHCI is selected

Reply 3 : Samsung 256GB SSD ATA Device PM800

Make sure you have installed the latest firmware for your drive, either from Dell's site, or Samsung's based on your drive model.

Reply 4 : Samsung 256GB SSD ATA Device PM800

I have the same benchmark with my PM800, it seems all of these models suffer from this slow benchmark. I have the latest available firmware for my drive and I have AHCI enabled in the BIOS. No one has been able to find a "fix" if there is any. I've been looking for months and it seems any system with the PM800 models have the same or very similar benchmarks including HP/Lenovo systems.

Reply 5 : Samsung 256GB SSD ATA Device PM800


Quote:








Originally Posted by Nivaku
View Post

I'm running a Crystal Disk Mark to behchmark my SSD performance and I'm only getting 203.3 MB/s Reads and 23.83 MB's Writes

Is that normal performance on a SSD?

I'm assuming my writes should be a bit higher right?

I've done my research and I do have TRIM enabled (whatever that is)

Should I call Dell for a replacement?




Quote:








Originally Posted by EGM92
View Post

I have the same benchmark with my PM800, it seems all of these models suffer from this slow benchmark. I have the latest available firmware for my drive and I have AHCI enabled in the BIOS. No one has been able to find a "fix" if there is any. I've been looking for months and it seems any system with the PM800 models have the same or very similar benchmarks including HP/Lenovo systems.



What Intel RST drivers do you have?? Go to device manager and look at IDE Ata/ ATAPI controllers. You should have 10.01 and the name of device must be Intel 5 series 6 port SATA controllers. If you have another name of it or version of driver is late then update it. If you need to update - tell me and will write how to do it

Reply 6 : Samsung 256GB SSD ATA Device PM800

For my ATA channel 0, 1, and 4 it's driver version 6.1.7601.17514



For my Intel 5 series 6 port driver version is 7.0.0.1013



You need my Ricoh driver/device information also?



I need to update my firmware on my ssd but as EGM92 said since it has no affect on him, I'm not going to do it because I dont want to reinstall my OS

PSIService.exe

Can anyone tell me what this is? I've never seen it before but it is now showing in my task manager.I tried google but make no sense of the results.

Reply 1 : PSIService.exe

The only thing i can find is that it is probably here

C:WINDOWSsystem32PSIService.exe

Try running some programs,such as spybot,trojan hunter,and an anti virus Heres a LINK for some programs.

Tom

Reply 2 : PSIService.exe

possibilities Fish. It might have been installed with a game if you downloaded or installed pne recently. It also might be part of Panda antivirus if you either have that or have used the online scan recently. Do you know where it is on the computer??

Reply 3 : PSIService.exe

Thank's to both of you for your reply.I just found that it is part of Paint Shop Pro which I did install recently.I only noticed PSIService.exe today and got suspisous.Thanks again for the help.Fish

Reply 4 : PSIService.exe

Hi Fish,

which version of PSP did you install?? I have several different versions of PSP on my computers...... but I do NOT have PSIService.exe.....

Reply 5 : PSIService.exe

To save everyone time.When i searched this hjt listed this unknown,i know that doesn't solve it,but may narrow it down.

Tom

Reply 6 : PSIService.exe

WhatsRunning.net - but I can ONLY look at the cache:

PSIService.exe 2.0.0.1 English - United States

cache link of whatsRunning

Reply 7 : PSIService.exe

I looked HERE and HERE,to no avail.

HJT lists it here in :C:WINDOWSsystem32PSIService.exe

Tom

Reply 8 : PSIService.exe

in a different HJT as:

O23 - Service: ProtexisLicensing - Unknown owner - C:WINDOWSsystem32PSIService.exe

http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?showtopic=131631 and here:

http://www.antispywareoffensief.nl/forum/showthread.php?p=203281

and NO problem with the service ! So..... fish is "good to go" wink

Reply 9 : PSIService.exe

lol. Marianna I just posted before seeing your all clear.Thank you very much and thanks again to Tom and Roddy.

Reply 10 : PSIService.exe

I can't read the second link,what language is it.

Tom

Reply 11 : PSIService.exe

ok here goes
First off I have Paint Shop Pro Photo X1 installed.
I found the file in system32 folder after searching my PC for it.
I searched the Paint folder and saw it listed.Right click and opening properties showed the following

Pf file(prefetch)
Protexis Inc.
170 KB
Application
n Titles

Im not too good at explaning this stuff.I certainly appreciate all of your help on this.Any more thoughts?

Reply 12 : PSIService.exe

and you want it,there is no problem.If you don't want it you can remove it in add/remove.

Tom

Reply 13 : PSIService.exe

PSIService.exe = "Protexis Licensing Service", and is used by Corel...

C:WINDOWSsystem32PSIService.exe

Part of the Protexis (http://www.protexis.com) copy protection and license management software. This will typically be installed by other software that uses this to protect itself from being illegally copied. This is found in Paint "Shop Pro Photo XI"... This startup entry is installed as a Windows NT, 2000, 2003, or XP service. You can disable this by going to

START > CONTROL PANEL > ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS > SERVICES

Find ProtexisLicensing in the list, double click it, then change the "Startup type:" to DISABLED

Reply 14 : PSIService.exe

This was driving me nuts it clogged up my event viewer

Reply 15 : PSIService.exe

My memory was getting eaten up by this psi service. I followed your instructions to diable and now I am running much faster! Thank you Lord_Baul!

Reply 16 : PSIService.exe

Ah, I see..... I bought it for my daughter. As she does not live here in town, I will have to wait until she installed it.

I have the PSP Pro 5 - 9 on my computers but NOT the Photo sad

I just see, there is a newsgroup > http://support.corel.com/scripts/rightnow.cfg/php.exe/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=754345

Fish, you should be safe with the service as nothing was found in the HJT logs.

Reply 17 : PSIService.exe

Thank you for confirming that Im good to go.
I think your daughter will really like the new software.
Thank's also for the newsgroup.It will be handy.
Have a Happy New Year.>))))*>

Reply 18 : PSIService.exe

You Are Very Welcome happy

Photo X1 looked very interesting to me... guess, I also have to buy it for myself......

Happy New Year to you too ! happy

Reply 19 : PSIService.exe

I received the following information from Protexis, who owns this program, which is used to verify that there is a legitimate software license. I am running the latest Corel Paint Shop Pro.


======================================================
Thanks for contacting Protexis Support,

You're correct; Protexis provides licensing services for Corel. A license check is performed each time you start your Corel product to verify a valid license is present on your machine.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Best regards,

___________________________________
Pat Macleod > Customer Support
Protexis Inc.
support@protexis.com

Reply 20 : PSIService.exe

WinPatrol
http://www.winpatrol.com/db/pro/psiservice.html?psiservice&1

Reply 21 : PSIService.exe

This is a service created from Protexx S.I.T.H. which is a company program which is under development by the Protexis Corporation. Protexx S.I.T.H. is a program used to alter your IP address and mask it using their secured VPN Network. Currently the program is trial software for 60days and can be found on Google. PSIService is the lincensing service used by S.I.T.H. to determine when your trial license is up and when you should renew your service with Protexis. the program isn't harmful it's just using up system resources, Go to Run, type msconfig and hit Enter.

Your System Configuration Utility will pop up. Click the Services Tab and scroll down the list and look for ProtexisLicensing and unclick the check mark in front of it, then click Apply down at the bottom. Close the box and it will ask you if you want to restart your computer but you don't have to. Open up your Task Manager and end the process of PSIService.exe. When you finally do restart your computer you'll get this window that pops up for your Sys. Config. Util., Click the box to not show this again and close the box.

Reply 22 : PSIService.exe

Read this:
http://www.protexis.com/support/support_PSIService.htm#link1

Thanks,

Sky

Reply 23 : PSIService.exe

PSIService.exe by Protexis, which installs a Protexis Licensing service or Protexis Licensing V2, apparently it's a spyware for CNET.

I use CNET for most of my downloads, I like it because it's a safe web site, and they let me know whenever there is an update for anything I've downloaded from them.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Connect PC to Samsung LCD

Trying to connect my PC to Samsung LN40A330JIDXZA. I have a 35' SVGA W/ 3.5 AUDIO CABLE. I get a "Mode Not Supported" msg when TV is set to PC input. Works fine w/ VGA/Monitor cable that came w/ Samsung Sycmaster monitor.

Reply 1 : Connect PC to Samsung LCD

Have you tried going into display settings on computer and trying different resolutions and frequency ?

Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

i know the diferences and i know that the 6300 use 3 antennas, it will work if i only use 2 antennas???



is it worth the upgrade from the dell 1520 to the 6200 or 6300???

Reply 1 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

I have the ultimate N 6300 and have noticed an immediate improvement in download speeds.. and there are 3 antenna slots but there are only 2 of them labeled #1 and #2

Reply 2 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

oh, so i can use the 6300 without the 3rd antenna... ill buy that one

Reply 3 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

I also use the 6300, and it was simple to install. Yeah, the hardware that is in my R2 was sufficient to install this card.

Reply 4 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

Anyone have a quick link to that post that describes how to switch the card? I've searched but can't seem to come up with the proper keyword to find it.



Thanks!

Reply 5 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Humpty06
View Post

Anyone have a quick link to that post that describes how to switch the card? I've searched but can't seem to come up with the proper keyword to find it.



Thanks!



1.Remove back cover.

2.Remove Black and White antenna wires.

3.Remove screw,then remove card.

4.Install new card.

5.Use 2 outside connectors for reattaching antennas.The 6300 has 3 but the M11x only has 2 so leave the middle one unattached.Reinstall cover.

6.Install drivers and enjoy.

Reply 6 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

Thanks g1xx3r +1 rep for you!

Reply 7 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Humpty06
View Post

Thanks g1xx3r +1 rep for you!



No problem.I love mine.Enjoy!

Reply 8 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

I changed out to the 6200 and did see some distance improvement along with reception. Be careful with the screws that hold the OEM one in. Mine were a little harder to get out than I expected.

Reply 9 : Intel 6200 or 6300 Wireless card?

Just so I'm sure... it's this one correct?



Amazon.com: Intel Ultimate N 633ANHMW IEEE 802.11n (draft) Wi-Fi Adapter - Mini PCI Express - 450Mbps: Electronics



Product title doesn't say 6300 explicitly

Best SEO Tips?

what are the best SEO tips for a New Websites?

Upgrading from 10.4 to 10.6 with Parallels 5 & XP involved

Are there any know issues doing this upgrade? Will I have to reinstall parallels and/or windows XP?

Reply 1 : Upgrading from 10.4 to 10.6 with Parallels 5 & XP involved

However, like any major undertaking, you will of course do a complete backup before you start the update.

P

Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

Is it worth $30cdn for the apple brand? Or will the dynex one for $18 do? I would buy it from monoprice for $10 shipped but i need it sooner than 2 weeks. Im in Canada.

Reply 1 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

Won't make the slightest difference.

Reply 2 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

fyi- i dont believe that a mini dvi to dvi adapter will work for the laptop in your signature

Reply 3 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

Well spotted!



Mini Display Port to DVI is what you need. Same advice applies re. it not needing to be Apple though.

Reply 4 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

Mini display port to dvi? oh didnt even know there was such thing as mini display port.



EDIT: $35 for dynex mini display port, ridiculous! $40 for the apple one. And let me guess i need a dvi cable to go from the cable to the monitor?



Reply 5 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

Yeah I just checked and all the unibody Macbook Pros are definitely Display Port.



I just did a web search and turned up an all-in-one cable for 14 (UK), not sure what that translates to in Canada, but you can avoid having to buy an adapter & cable and just get a cable with the right ends

Reply 6 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?


Quote:








Originally Posted by ssssssssss
View Post

Yeah I just checked and all the unibody Macbook Pros are definitely Display Port.



I just did a web search and turned up an all-in-one cable for 14 (UK), not sure what that translates to in Canada, but you can avoid having to buy an adapter & cable and just get a cable with the right ends



I need to change my sign but im getting the new i5 2011 model MBP.



Are you sure mini DVI wont work? I was told this should work. Only $15!



StarTech MiniDVI to DVI Adapter for Macbooks & iMacs at Memory Express Computers

Reply 7 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

No, that's mini DVI. It's a totally different connector. I didn't think enough about what your laptop had when I originally answered, but you definitely need mini Display Port to DVI.



See pictures on wiki:



Mini DisplayPort - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Mini-DVI - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Reply 8 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Mini-Display-Por...item1e625bd36e



this is probably the most economical way to get it

Reply 9 : Mini DVI to DVI adaptor - dynex or apple brand?


Quote:








Originally Posted by ssssssssss
View Post

No, that's mini DVI. It's a totally different connector. I didn't think enough about what your laptop had when I originally answered, but you definitely need mini Display Port to DVI.



See pictures on wiki:



Mini DisplayPort - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Mini-DVI - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia



Ah ok thanks. Looks like the link i posted above is the wrong product description ha.



My monitor doesnt have HDMI, only DVI and VGA. So I guess i have to get 1 DVI to DVI cable and the mini display port to DVI apaptor. Right?

How to Optimize/Clean-up Apple Laptops

I have two MacBook laptops, both bought new in 2007. I don't recall their exact specs, but one was top of the line (black), and the other was a grade lower (white), but with no additional hardware upgrades on either (e.g., RAM, etc.). Now granted, they're both getting on in age and have been through a lot, but I would really appreciate some advice on ways that I might clean up the hard drives, system and overall just optimize their performance to get the most out of them, before I have to suck it up and look at buying new ones. Any suggestions would be fantastic.



Cheers

Reply 1 : How to Optimize/Clean-up Apple Laptops

re-format the Hard drives, reinstall the latest OS, and max out the ram.



You may want to purchase and install larger & faster hard drives as well. 7200RPM is nice.



Very easy process, just youtube

"upgrade hard drive macbook" & "upgrade RAM macbook"

Reply 2 : How to Optimize/Clean-up Apple Laptops

You can always check out OnyX



It let's you:



- do some standard system-cleanup (verify disk permissions, clean cache, run OS X cleanup scripts whenever you want)

- change certain UI settings, i.e. disable Dashboard if you don't use it (let's you save up some RAM)



Great to have standard OS X cleanup-stuff all in one application, and good to change some settings when you're not familiar with Unix commands.



Off course, upgrading RAM and putting in a faster hdd (maybe an SSD) will help you out more but it depends on whether you want to spend more money and whether you really need these types of upgrades.

Reply 3 : How to Optimize/Clean-up Apple Laptops

upgrade ram to 2-3gb if you didnt.

I would try to sell it now and buy smth better since they wont sell that good in lets say a year.

Reply 4 : How to Optimize/Clean-up Apple Laptops

Upgrade the RAM and put a 7200rpm drive in it. I've got 4gigs in my late 2007 BlackBook along with a 500GB Western Digital drive. Runs amazing and its by far my favorite machine.

gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook

Hi,



My "old" ul30vt passed away and I need a new 12-13" notebook (not netbook).



Since I don't have Dell in my country and the Sony Z is unreadable (for me) on those 1920x1080 over a 13" screen, what kind of alternative do I have ?



After reading some threads it seems that the 310m is my best option.



CPU and the other specifications are unimportant: I use it to read mails, do some MS office docs and play games (mostly RTS).



Thx in advance,

JCF

Reply 1 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook

13" Acer 3820TG has a HD5650. It's the most powerful gpu in the smallest chassis OR

11.6" Alienware M11xR2 with a GT335M



Could otherwise consider any expresscard-equipped notebook with Intel IGP and do a x1.Opt DIY ViDock, eg; US$220 GTX460 setup. We are waiting to see how Sandy Bridge-equipped notebooks, with double the bandwidth, can accomodate that setup. Means a 12" Lenovo X220, Dell E6220 or HP 2560P could be serious 12" gaming boxes

Reply 2 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook

a second on the Acer 3820TG, it kills the 310 by a HUGE margin. okay even the 335 in the AW M11x

Reply 3 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook

I am using the 3820TG - amazing little machine.



7 hours on battery surfing, then plug in and play Mass Effect 2 maxed @ 45-60 fps.

Reply 4 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook

The 5650 and the 335 are actually very close in performance, so either the Acer or AW would be fine. Just keep in mind that with the AW you'll havve less downtime than you would with the Acer since it offers next-day home tech support, which is important for school. Laptop companies that have the "box 'em and ship it" warranties usually keep it for 2-5 weeks (1 if it's HP), so take that into consideration when choosing.

Reply 5 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook


Quote:








Originally Posted by Voodooi
View Post

The 5650 and the 335 are actually very close in performance, so either would the Acer or AW would be fine. Just keep in mind that with the AW you'll have less downtime than you would with the Acer since it offers next-day home tech support, which is important for school. Laptop companies that have the "box 'em and ship it" warranties usually keep it for 2-5 weeks (1 if it's HP), so take that into consideration when choosing.



been to the AW forum lately??? I have an 11X and it is noticibly slower on the gpu than the 5650, plus the ULV chip cant keep up with the full i5 in the 3820TG.



as for AW's onsite support, sure theyve been to my place about a dozen times and cant keep it running even after 3 replacement units. as an owner I honestly CANT reccomend one until they possibly build a revision 3 which sucks less.

Reply 6 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook

Well, depends on cost. You recently could get a refurb M11x with SU7300, GTX 335m (obviously), 4GB DDR3, 320GB HDD for $549. I got mine for $499 during Cyber Monday, but it's one hell of a deal even at $549. I was eyeing the 3820TG heavily but final costs would have been nearly $800, and for $300 less I'll take the M11x.



But for $800 I think the 3820TG is the way to go.

Reply 7 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook


Quote:








Originally Posted by htwingnut
View Post

Well, depends on cost. You recently could get a refurb M11x with SU7300, GTX 335m (obviously), 4GB DDR3, 320GB HDD for $549. I got mine for $499 during Cyber Monday, but it's one hell of a deal even at $549. I was eyeing the 3820TG heavily but final costs would have been nearly $800, and for $300 less I'll take the M11x.



But for $800 I think the 3820TG is the way to go.



in Canada the 3820TG has been on sale at $650 plenty of times.

Reply 8 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook


Quote:








Originally Posted by Bearclaw
View Post

in Canada the 3820TG has been on sale at $650 plenty of times.



Not to USA... NCIX is about the only option and typically was ~$749 + shipping & insurance.



However the OP didn't mention their country.

Reply 9 : gpu options for a 12" - 13" notebook


Quote:








Originally Posted by htwingnut
View Post

Well, depends on cost. You recently could get a refurb M11x with SU7300, GTX 335m (obviously), 4GB DDR3, 320GB HDD for $549. I got mine for $499 during Cyber Monday, but it's one hell of a deal even at $549.



An awesome deal, especially if you overclock it to 1.9-2.1Ghz as being done in http://forum.notebookreview.com/alie...supported.html .

Earthlink webmail

Get ready to laugh yourself silly.
I have had earthlink as an ISP forever. At one time all we had was dial-up access. Fast forward. My partner got gmail for receiving email and I just kept the old address because I was too busy traveling to consider if I no longer needed this service. We moved and now have DSL/Cabel and it just occurred to me that I may have been paying a monthly fee needlessly. So here is the the "duh". Can I drop earthlink and still get my email and access to the net and save myself twenty buck a month?

Reply 1 : Earthlink webmail

It's entirely up to you what email service you use.

But can you just clarify, was Earthlink your ISP and email provider before you moved? If so, are you still using Earthlink as your ISP? If not then you are surely paying for a service that you no longer have a need for, the provision of an internet connection.

Your present DSL/Cable provider is providing your access to the net and if that is not Earthlink then you seem to be paying twice for the same access. Your present internet access provider should also have offered you an email account.

However, losing Earthlink may be a problem for you. If you cancel your subscription to Earthlink as an ISP, then you will lose access to Earthlink's email service. Here's the problem;

1] If you were managing your Earthlink emails via software installed on your computer, eg Outlook Express, Outlook, Thunderbird, etc, then your emails you have saved will still be available for you to see, as long as you do not delete the Earthlink account from that software. But that software will no longer be able to connect to Earthlink to download further emails, and you will not be able to send emails under your Earthlink email account. Your Contacts List will be safe.

2] If you accessed and managed Earthlink emails via a web browser, then once you unsubscribe to Earthlink as your ISP, you will lose all access to that web based email web site, and lose access to your emails and any Contact List.

So, be sure what you want to do and what you are doing, before making any choices.

I hope that helps.

Mark

Reply 2 : Earthlink webmail

where you said this is Earthlink WEBMAIL.

So I am no longer sure whether this is provided as a part of Earthlink's ISP service or is entirely separate. If separate then the decision is yours whether to continue paying for this emails service, but if you do unsubscribe, you will lose all access.

Mark

Reply 3 : Earthlink webmail

When circumstances change users sometimes change how they get their Internet access, due to moving to another town, work-related access, or other reasons. We've had a lot of questions lately about how to keep an EarthLink mailbox if you won't be using EarthLink to access the Internet. A related scenario is if your Internet access provider has been using EarthLink to provide your mailboxes, and that provider is moving their email to another place and offering you a new email address. I've also gotten a lot of questions from users in that situation.

In both cases the answer is yes, you can keep your EarthLink mailbox and address. We have an email-only plan for $3.95 per month. If you have an EarthLink mailbox already then you can simply call customer service at 1-800-EARTHLINK and tell them you want to convert your mailbox to a "Premium Mail" account. Even if your EarthLink account or mailbox has already been closed, you can still do this for a few weeks as your mailbox won't have been deleted yet and can be recovered. We can just re-open it for you.

Read more about Premium Mail here. But don't sign up through that web page; you must call customer service in order to convert over an existing mailbox.

Reply 4 : Earthlink webmail

I have been trying to access Webmail since last Friday morning (Mar 19) and it has been down the entire time. I have spoken 3 times with tech support (in India ;-(() and they have no idea what's going on. I've also had multiple tech support chats online, and all I get is the same patronizing apology, but no information. Nothing is posted on the support website, and nothing is listed in "Outages."

Have you any idea why the servers are down and how long it will take for them to be back up? This is a totally unacceptable level of service. I have been an Earthlink customer for over 11 years, and I have never seen it this bad.

Debnewman

Reply 5 : Earthlink webmail

We know Earthlink services members all over the world and only your local service provider can assist with your problem. Other then the quote from their web site is all I can provide.

Bill Gaston
Austin, Texas

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

GT627 with 8Gb

I asked long time ago in the store where I bought my laptop and they told me the maximum amount of memory for the GT267 was 4Gb. I think that's because by then, there were not 2x4Gb kits, but the motherboard can actually handle 8Gb. Am I right? I've seen they're quite affordable nowadays. I don't really need 8Gb, but it's good to know for the future

Reply 1 : GT627 with 8Gb

The chipset does support 8gb.



I think you're right, it should work.

Reply 2 : GT627 with 8Gb

Yeah I do, but I found this in Crucial's website







which makes me think it twice... anyway, I don't think I need, an SSD drive is gonna be my next update

Reply 3 : GT627 with 8Gb

Hi,





Used to have 2x4GB Crucial in my GT725. The palm rest was really hot with it, heat sink of it was untouchable. And now after a bit more than a year, both ram is dead. Put back original ram, and even with 24% oc, (ram @ 990MHz) the palm rest is cold. So it will work, but without cooling pad i wouldn't advise it.



Regards.

Reply 4 : GT627 with 8Gb

Hmmm thanks so much for sharing your experience, then is probably not a good idea... I always use a notebook cooler, but still, since it would be an upgrade just because I feel like and not because I need it, I don't think is worth to risk... so yeah, I'll go for a SSD drive instead

Reply 5 : GT627 with 8Gb

You're welcome!

If I could go back in time, now i would have choose the q9200, since already have the SSD. Go for SSD with OBHD, that would be the best upgrade.

Reply 6 : GT627 with 8Gb

I'm not sure why ghoula's laptop got that hot just by adding more RAM, and the heatsink is not connected to the RAM so perhaps your GPU or CPU were running hot. All I can say is that if you add an SSD, you may want to turn off the paging file for better performance and longevity of the SSD. At that point 8GB of RAM would be a good idea especially if you are gaming.

Reply 7 : GT627 with 8Gb

Kosti, it wasn't heating up the cooling system, the 4gb ram modules where hotter, and it dissipated into the chassis, so eventually it heated up everything. Probably the chipset became hotter, to drive the bigger modules, but it wasn't noticeable in the cpu temperature....

When i was talking about untouchable heatsink, it was the memory modules own heatsink.

Reply 8 : GT627 with 8Gb

But you OC the ram, right?

Reply 9 : GT627 with 8Gb

No. The 2x4Gb kit couldn't be overclocked, used it with 667Mhz, and with oc it was ~800Mhz.

I said the 8Gb kit was hotter, than the 4gb with oc. But consider that, mine is DDR2, and 628 is DDR3. Lover voltage means lesser power usage.

converting non speech sound into text

Hi friends i m working on d project where i want to convert non speech sound(gun shot,baby crying) into text, Is there any api available that can do this it will be good if sapi can do it(any method)... i m using sapi5.1 n ffmpeg

It's getting hot in here..

Living in a country that has an average ground temperature of around 35C isn't easy for a guy that's fresh out of London. But this problem is further amplified by the fact that my AW kicks out some serious heat. I've had it for over a year now and I've gotten quite used to it to some degree but lately paranoia has started to get the better of me. I mean, this thing gets seriously hot! It's starting to worry me slightly. I'm actually nursing a nice rectangular blister on the palm of my hand (courtesy of that shiny metal tag-plate) after relocating it after a couple of hours solid gaming. It's been like this for as long as I can remember but now I'm based in a country where 90% of the population are computer illiterate and any clown who can pick up a screwdriver will tell you he's a professional computer technician (until he breaks or steals your rig, at which point he pulls a Houdini, never to be seen again). If I were to encounter a critical hardware failure it would result in a waking nightmare as I go about trying to rectify the matter. So basically, I've been wondering whether it's normal for the underside of the machine to get almost untouchably hot? To be specific, the heat builds up almost entirely on the back righthand side of the laptop (as you're using it) and directly underneath the touchpad. Any ideas? I think it's trying to tell me something, but I really don't know what...



Edit:



Ok, I just removed the card to take a look at it (I'm curious like that..) and took a couple of pictures. I've never actually done this before so I really don't know what I'm looking for but the thermal paste doesn't look too good in my completely uneducated opinion. Could this be the cause of the heat issues I'm experiencing? Or is this normal? Please take a look if you have the time, this is bothering the hell out of me! Thanks.







Reply 1 : It's getting hot in here..

Well, the paste dries out after a while... especially the standard Dell paste. As you lifted the heatsinks you MUST clean away the old paste and reapply new, fresh paste, otherwise the paste won't be of any use at all and you'll fry your system.



Also make sure the vents and the system generally are free from dust and for a good airflow I recommend lifting the system a bit with a book or similar, especially in a hot environment like yours.



Get new paste immediately, some stuff to clean the old paste away (e.g. isopropyl alcohol) and repaste (if you need help, check out inaps guide) and feel free to ask if anything is unclear.



Btw, did you ever measure the temps before removing the GPU?

Reply 2 : It's getting hot in here..

repasting is a must now, since you opened it up and broke the thermal paste seal. also maybe a good idea to invest in a notebook cooler.

Reply 3 : It's getting hot in here..

B a l l s !



Ok gonna shut down right now! Thanks for the help guys.



Reply 4 : It's getting hot in here..

you can prolly get away with running on stealth mode until you repaste it.

Windows OEM system builder question

After navigating Microsofts labrynth of a website looking for information about becoming a system builder, I finally decided to ask somebody else. Basically I want to build new PC's, IE; get the parts from new egg, assemble the computer and slap on a copy of Windows 7 and Microsoft office legally. However, Buying a single license for each new build is not only pricy but not the right way to do it. Is there a way to get a pack of say..10 licenses that I can distribute with the PC's I build?

I have found some information about this on Microsoft but nowhere do I see any information on WHERE I can purchase the software. THANK YOU!!

Reply 1 : Windows OEM system builder question

There are no 10 packs. Today it's 3 and 30.

http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/sblicensing/Pages/index.aspx is where you start.
Bob

Reply 2 : Windows OEM system builder question

That looks like what I need. Where do I purchase this software, and how much is something like this going to cost?? Thanks.

Reply 3 : Windows OEM system builder question

http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/productlicensing/pages/oem_parts_numbers.aspx

Sadly I must log out for a day and get on the plane. Let's hope you figure out there is no big savings here.

As the OEM you get to answer all tech support issues with Windows. That's fine for some but for most companies they soon head back to full retail products.
Bob

Reply 4 : Windows OEM system builder question

There are distributor networks but I don't know their names. But keep in mind that, as an OEM system builder, you provide support for the PCs you build including the OS with an OEM license. You also get to replace defective motherboards under warranty conditions and Windows OEM software locks to the original hardware. I believe there's an activation workaround when this happens but system builder shops don't give out their secrets. Good luck.

Reply 5 : Windows OEM system builder question

This came up in a google shopping search..

http://www.provantage.com/microsoft-fqc-04770~4MIC909C.htm

$$4348.99. Wow, That comes out to roughly 144 bucks a copy!! Thats actually more than you would pay for a single copy of the retail version, and you would have to offer tech support!?!? No thanks. I just wanted to build a few systems and put them up on Amazon. You all have been very helpful, any further suggestions are welcomed.

Reply 6 : Windows OEM system builder question

Depending on your level of expertise, you could offer full retail copies and let the buyer take their OS issues to MS but your machines would run at least $150.00 more than your competitors. The advantage, however, is that you can move those copies to other machines in the future. That's not the worst thing that could happen and some folks might even think it's worth it.

Reply 7 : Windows OEM system builder question

Definetly a possibilty, Although a lot of the systems Ive seen on Ebay/Amazon have been pretty high end machines with Windows 7 for irrationaly low prices to start with. I dont know how they do it. Ive come to grips with the fact that I will certainly have the highest prices around. I guess marketing is the name of the game. Buying and installing OEM copies of 7 and Office were a part of my original game plan, but for that price I'm not sure I'd be able to make any sales due to the profit markup. Linux and open office it is, Lol.

Monday, March 21, 2011

Which RAM for Sony YB?

Hey folks,



I am considering to buy a Sony YB: More of AMD?s Brazos E-350 with the MSI X370 and Sony VAIO YB - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News as I need an ultraportable laptop and I'd like one with AMD Fusion.



I am from Denmark and the current version they are selling, is only with 2 GB which I would like to upgrade to 4GB and perhaps a SSD.



But which ram will fit into this machine? Every DDR3 ram? And which would you suggest? :-)





Yours sincerely,



svanebjerg.

Reply 1 : Which RAM for Sony YB?

In Hong Kong they are doing a promotion where every user who purchases a VAIO YB gets a free RAM upgrade from 2 GB to 4 GB. From what I see from the RAM packaging, the RAM brand they use is Transcend. Try picking up one of those, they should work.

Reply 2 : Which RAM for Sony YB?

Brand is not important!! Buy the cheapest from a known brand!



DDR3 is what you need.

Reply 3 : Which RAM for Sony YB?

So 1600mhz RAM would work aswell or? :-)

Reply 4 : Which RAM for Sony YB?

Depends on the processor. I don't think the CPU in vaio yb can support 1600 MHz

Reply 5 : Which RAM for Sony YB?

Okay, how do I figure out which my processor supports? :-)

Reply 6 : Which RAM for Sony YB?

Yes, buy 1066mhz ram, if it doesn't support it will downclock to 800mhz.

Reply 7 : Which RAM for Sony YB?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Rachel
View Post

Yes, buy 1066mhz ram, if it doesn't support it will downclock to 800mhz.



Exactly.

And I advise you to buy 1066 - you can always resell it easier or use it on another PC later. It will work just as 800 on your pc, but will have a higher value in a few months or an year from now.

Reply 8 : Which RAM for Sony YB?

I'd just like to bring up the point that there was another member here who tried to upgrade from 2GB to 4GB and after trying many, many brands that all weren't compatible with the YB he was forced to ask a computer shop to take a 2GB stick out of another YB and place it in his own. I don't own a YB so I can't confirm this, but it's something to keep in mind.

Reply 9 : Which RAM for Sony YB?


Quote:








Originally Posted by ajnauron
View Post

I'd just like to bring up the point that there was another member here who tried to upgrade from 2GB to 4GB and after trying many, many brands that all weren't compatible with the YB he was forced to ask a computer shop to take a 2GB stick out of another YB and place it in his own. I don't own a YB so I can't confirm this, but it's something to keep in mind.



I consider that a complete nonsense! Sorry. My personal opinion.

I now also have 2 different brands RAM in my VAIO.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Acer Aspire 6930G Screen Upgrade?

Hello all



I have a Acer Aspire 6930G with the following screen: LTN160AT01, which is the 1366x768 resolution screen.



I have managed to break this screen



Anyway, i wanted to upgrade to full HD, i've noticed this laptop comes in two different resolutions, 1366x768 and Full HD 1920x1080



So i purchased a LTN160HT01 which is the 1920x1080 screen and fitted it to my laptop, with these results:







I've heard that the screen may be incompatible? or is the screen just faulty? the screen also changes colour etc and bits move about on the screen, so i'm wondering if it's the cable that isn't right for the screen?



Any help would be very apprecaited.



Regards



EDIT:



Mods please change title to 6930G typo mistake with the 9.

Reply 1 : Acer Aspire 6930G Screen Upgrade?

According to a service manual SAMSUNG 16" WUXGA Glare LTN160HT01-A02 is supported however you need a dual LVDS for full HD LCD and only single LDVS for so called HD Ready (your old LCD)

That may be the root of the problem.

Reply 2 : Acer Aspire 6930G Screen Upgrade?

Thanks for the reply, how would i go about getting these dual LVDS?

Reply 3 : Acer Aspire 6930G Screen Upgrade?

Something like this:



DUAL DLCD2605 LVDS CABLE on eBay (end time 31-Oct-10 13:52:56 GMT)



Or would it need to be Acer specific?



Regards

Reply 4 : Acer Aspire 6930G Screen Upgrade?

Acer specific I presume. The same cable is used with both 720p and 1080p LCDs in 6930G according to a service manual.

Acer part no is 50.ASR07.002

Theres another one but it's meant for non-bezel screens so it should have nothing to do with your situation.

Reply 5 : Acer Aspire 6930G Screen Upgrade?

Hi



I want to know if you successfully replaced your LCD screen ?



I've just replace my LTN160AT01 with a LTN160HT01.



I have 2 cable with this number near the barcode :



GLEDD0ZK2LC200081101 and GLEDD0ZK200090223



The 2 are Rev 3A



it seems it's the reference 50.ASR07.002 from Acer Service Manual



This is the result :



http://www.heberger-image.fr/images/...0818.jpeg.html





My picture is not very good, but i have like a Yellow shadow on the screen, and it seems vertical line are missing.



If someone could help to solve this Probs, il will be COOOOOOOL !

TO INSTALL OR NOT TO INSTALL IE9

I came this morning after the big news of IE 9 release after the test version. I understand was out earlier, before the 3/17 official release date. I was hoping to find positive feed back on my question. The online bank issue would definitely be a problem for me since I partake of that conveience with my own local bank. I subscribe to kim Komando and she speaks highly of the new IE9 and suggests installing right away. So many good features added which makes it very competive with Fox and all the others. Especially security. Next question before I finish. Can I install over 8? Of course when the time comes and i decide to make the jump. Thanks. CNET is really a great online source for help in so many areas. We all need to be grateful to people who give their time unselfishly. imgrateful_1

Reply 1 : TO INSTALL OR NOT TO INSTALL IE9

I would wait until it is offered as a Windows Update. Why? I'm a coward. Let others find the problems, (if any), and give Microsoft time to address these, devil

When installed it will automatically replace IE8.

The banking issue may not be an issue after all, see this forum's Sticky post for more information here;
http://forums.cnet.com/7723-6620_102-520814.html

However, if this issue is real, then it may not be addressed before it is offered to you via WU, so I would be prepared and download and install some other browser before going with IE9. That way you always have a backup browser to use for these important security required banking sites.

I hope that helps.

Mark

Reply 2 : TO INSTALL OR NOT TO INSTALL IE9

Thanks Mark. I think I will wait for a bit. thats a good plan to wait for a formal invitation to up date from Microsofst.

Reply 3 : TO INSTALL OR NOT TO INSTALL IE9

I installed IE9 RC last month and had problems with the video. I removed it to wait and see.
Installed it again a couple days ago on Windows 7 laptop and the problems I had before were gone and it works great.
I installed it on my Windows Vista desktop computer yesterday with the same results. I can't find any problems with it so far on either computer.
I see some are having problems getting into their bank. I haven't come across that and can get into my bank and credit union without any problems.
Beings it's the final release I would think it would be a Windows update very soon if not already out.
IE9 is faster than Firefox and the layout is better than any previous version, although it takes a little getting used to like anything new.
Microsoft is saying it is much more secure than the previous IE's, that I will have to wait and see.
Overall I like it a lot, but am still playing around with it to see if I can find any quirks with it.
I also keep Firefox on both computers just in case, but until a problem shows up, I will be using IE9.

Reply 4 : TO INSTALL OR NOT TO INSTALL IE9

Had trouble with my bank also. Did not recognize the browser and wanted me to upgrade to a later version.
I used Tools, Compatibility View Settings, and added the url of the bank. No more problems.

IE9 low html5 test score and cannot run Fish Tank test

I have installed the RC of IE9 and since one of the things they mention is the hardware acceleration I went to their IE test drive site http://ie.microsoft.com/testdrive/Default.html and several of the tests do not even run (Fish tank is one). Fish Tank runs on Chrome which I have installed on the same laptop.
Also, when I go to the http://html5test.com/index.html to test the browser I get a score of 62, when the site itself says that IE9 RC gets a score of 130. Is something wrong with my setup? Anyone have an explanation? I even uninstalled IE 8 and reinstalled IE9 when I saw the problem. System Info below. Thanks.

Asus M51V laptop with a P8600 processor
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 graphics adaptor
3GB RAM
Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2

Reply 1 : IE9 low html5 test score and cannot run Fish Tank test

fails on my IE8 as well.

I didn't do the HTML5 test for IE9 as I haven't installed it yet, but for IE8 I got a score of 32. I got a better score with Firefox 3.6, scored 155, so a score of 130 seems reasonable for IE9.

Why are you still using IE9 RC when the full version is now available?

Mark

Reply 2 : IE9 low html5 test score and cannot run Fish Tank test

Sorry. I did mean the final version. Just installed it yesterday.

Screen Recorder

I am looking for a screen recorder. Free would be nice. I want to be able to perform basic functions. I need to be able to select only part of the screen.
I would like to have a small control panel that i could have to the side of the area that I am recording to pause, record, stop, etc.

It would also be great to be able to add text to the video.

This is for documentation for an open source project, so free or cheap is ideal.

Thanks!
Chris

Reply 1 : Screen Recorder

Read http://sourceforge.net/projects/camstudio/

Reply 2 : Screen Recorder

Hey I wanted to know if whether or not a screen recorder exists.. Like a screen saver but only spontaneous. Nice thread and thank you for the link my friend.

Blinking green light on back of plasma tv

I have a 2010 Samsung PN58C8000 plasma TV and have recently noticed a blinking green light coming from the back of the TV. There are 2 led's marked led2000 and led2001 on a circuit board that can be seen through a vent on the back of the TV. The one marked led2000 is blinking a green led. Are these some sort of self diagnostic lights? I haven't noticed any abnormal operation of my TV, but could this flashing light be indicating there is a problem?

Reply 1 : Blinking green light on back of plasma tv

elite1dmw,

I don't think that this would be a diagnostic light, but without being able to actually inspect the unit, it's difficult to say for sure. If it's connected to the network, that may be just an indicator for the network.

--HDTech

Reply 2 : Blinking green light on back of plasma tv

Thanks for responding so quickly HDTech. I had considered that as an option, and disconnected the network cable to the TV. The light kept flashing away. It's not a random flickering like a network activity light either. It's more of a steady blinking, like a turn signal on a car.

NEWS - March 18, 2011

RSA hack could endanger the security of SecurID tokens

RSA, one of the leading global manufacturers of cryptographic solutions, has apparently fallen prey to an attack in which data was stolen from its servers. According to a press release from RSA's CEO, Art Coviello, to RSA customers, part of the data included information about SecurID products, which could endanger their security.

SecurID is one of the oldest systems for two-factor authentication for safe logins on computers; most people are familiar with it as a hardware token that generates a one-time password (OTP) every 60 seconds. Worldwide, 40 million tokens are reportedly used by companies in addition to an estimated 250 million software versions on mobile devices, etc.

Continued : http://www.h-online.com/security/news/item/RSA-hack-could-endanger-the-security-of-SecurID-tokens-1210393.html

Also:
RSA Hack Yields SecurID Secrets
RSA Warns SecurID Customers After Company Is Hacked
Security firm RSA warns that its servers have been hacked

Reply 1 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

We know what fake antivirus is: malware posing as real antivirus while hijacking your computer and wallet. Then there is real antivirus: applications such as avast! and our competitors.

And now there is a third category: semi-fake antivirus. It's not a blatant malware attack and may actually include a real antivirus application. From a strictly technical perspective, it might not even be called malware.

But one thing is clear: it is still taking money from consumers in a way that some would call fraudulent.

Recently, I got an email from the UK-based Computeractive about an irate customer wanting a refund on avast! Pro. It seems that the person went on the internet, searched for avast, and found a site offering special download services and videos. They ended up getting a messed-up computer and spending over $100.

Continued : https://blog.avast.com/2011/03/17/attack-of-the-semi-fake-antivirus/

Reply 2 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

Security specialist Michael Gough, best known for his attacks on VoIP systems, appears to have discovered a vulnerability in LAN-attached access control systems. The vulnerability apparently allows electronic locking systems to be opened without authorisation over a network. Working with developer Ian Robertson, Gough has developed an Android app called Caribou which exploits the vulnerability to unlock doors for which an RFID key card would normally be required.

All the Android app requires to carry out a successful attack is the IP address of the access control system. It follows that only systems which are accessible from the web or via Wi-Fi will be vulnerable to this attack. Gough has not revealed precise details of the attack and is working on the problem with US-CERT. He also has no intention of making the app publicly available at this time.

Continued : http://www.h-online.com/security/news/item/Open-sesame-Smartphone-hack-for-electronic-entry-systems-1210626.html

Reply 3 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

Microsoft Corp claimed credit on Thursday for taking down one of the biggest producers of spam e-mail in a joint effort with federal authorities across the United States.

The world's biggest software company said its legal action against the operator of the Rustock 'botnet' -- or network of infected computers programed to send spam e-mail -- led to raids across the country on Thursday which effectively shut the network down.

Tech security bloggers who follow the activities of botnets worldwide noticed earlier on Thursday a sharp dip in spam e-mail coming from the Rustock network, which some estimate is responsible for almost half of the spam appearing in inboxes. However, they warned that total eradication requires long-term efforts.

After getting the go-ahead from federal court in Seattle, where Microsoft had filed a lawsuit against the botnet's operators, the company said it worked with the U.S. Marshals Service to raid hosting providers in seven U.S. cities early on Thursday, including Denver, Dallas, Chicago, Seattle and Columbus.

"With help from the upstream providers, we successfully severed the IP addresses that controlled the botnet, cutting off communication and disabling it," said Richard Boscovich, senior attorney at Microsoft's Digital Crimes Unit in a blog post on Microsoft's site.

Continued : http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20110318/tc_nm/us_microsoft_botnet

From Microsoft: Taking Down Botnets: Microsoft and the Rustock Botnet

Also: Spam Network Shut Down

Related : Rustock Botnet Flatlined, Spam Volumes Plummet

Reply 4 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

.. notification Emails

Websense Security Labs Threatseeker network has detected a new malicious email campaign that masquerades as originating from Facebook. The campaign appears to actually be originating from the Cutwail/Pushdo spam bot. This time round, the Cyber criminals employ two attack vectors: social engineering and an exploit kit. Both end up with the Zeus/Zbot Trojan installed on the targeted machines.

Here is an example of a malicious email in Spanish: [Screenshot]

The malicious email is spoofed to appear to be coming from Facebook.com and says: "Hi, someone loves your photo comments, please click on the link to see all comments". It provides a fake URL disguised as a formal Facebook link. Once clicked, the user is redirected to an attack page and is prompted to download and run an "update" from Facebook. The "update" file is a Zeus/Zbot Trojan variant. At the time of writing, the file had only a 7% detection. [Screenshot]

The attack isn't over yet. While the fake Facebook page loads, the user's machine is attacked silently with several exploits in the background. The exploits are sent via an iframe contained in the fake Facebook attack page. This process happens silently when the attack page is loaded. The exploits are loaded from one of the most prevalent exploit kits today - the Blackhole exploit kit. Any successful exploitation results in the Zeus/Zbot Trojan installed silently on the user's machine.

Continued : http://community.websense.com/blogs/securitylabs/archive/2011/03/18/zbot-and-blackhole-exploit-kit-all-in-facebook-comments-spam.aspx

Related : A New Playground for the BlackHole Exploit Kit

Reply 5 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

Computer viruses have been around for a long, long time - pretty much as long as personal computing and mainstream software development - and they've been making international news since the Internet graduated from a researcher's toy to a tool for consumers.

If you've ever wondered what the first viruses were like and just how bad or dangerous they were, this infographic should be an interesting read for you. And the Space Invaders graphics will be easy on your nerdy eyes, too.

While the first virus in this brief history coincided with the birth of the 3.5-inch floppy disk, a lot of the malware we see these days relies on social media or mobile apps for transmission, adequate proof (as if any was needed) that with any innovation comes an opportunity for exploitation.

The twist these days is that more viruses are specifically targeted to steal personal data and make money for their creators, which was not necessarily a goal for many of the virus-writing hackers of the late 1980s and early 1990s. In fact, according to this data, the first money-making computer virus didn't hit PCs until 2003.

Infographic - Click image to view the full-size version.

http://mashable.com/2011/03/16/history-of-computer-viruses/

The Infographic is from F-Secure. See: Infographic - COMPUTER INVADERS

Reply 6 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

RSA, the security division of EMC Corp. has warned customers to be on the lookout for targeted attacks, including suspicious messages and links sent over social media networks in the wake of a sophisticated attack that spilled confidential information about the workings of the company's SecurID strong authentication product.

In a letter to RSA SecurCare customers, the company said that the information stolen about the SecurID product "could potentially be used to reduce the effectiveness of a current two-factor authentication implementation as part of a broader attack." It advised customers to pay increased attention to signs of a targeted attack, scrutinizing social media applications and suspicious e-mail attachments, among other steps.

The letter was disclosed in a federal 8-K filing with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) on Thursday. In it, the company lays out a list of recommendations to customers, which are described as "overall recommendations." It said it is also providing "immediate remediation steps for customers" to "strengthen RSA SecurID implementations." The company declined to say what those steps are. An RSA spokesperson said the company cannot comment beyond the information provided in the letter to customers and a blog post by Executive Chairman Art Coviello because there is an active criminal investigation regarding the breach.

Continued : https://threatpost.com/en_us/blogs/rsa-warns-customers-targeted-attacks-wake-hack-031811

Also:
RSA SecurID Customers Need to Boost Vigilance, Other Network Defenses
RSA breach report lacks depth: Kaminsky

[Related to the first post in this thread]

Reply 7 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

A hole has been spotted in Internet Explorer 9's do-not-track technology, and Microsoft says it's a feature not a bug.

In response to a US government call for greater protection of consumers' privacy online, Microsoft added a Tracking Protection Lists (TPLs) feature to IE9. Netizens can use one or more lists to prevent certain ad networks and websites from tracking their behavior online. But when an IE9 user downloads multiple TPLs and a site's blocked on one list but allowed on another, IE9 will allow the site, letting it to track the user's activities.

The hole was flagged up by UK consumer watchdog Which?. Tracking Protection Lists are available from four Microsoft IE9 partners: Abine, EasyList, PrivacyChoice, and Truste.

An existing Microsoft TPL Q&A here at the foot of the IE9 test drive site mentions briefly what happens if there's a conflict. It's also illustrated as part of a video on Microsoft's IE blog that announces TPLs. While that might count as forewarning, this is not a capability that Microsoft has explicitly called out or explained in any great detail when it has talked about TPLs.

Continued : http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/03/18/microsoft_ie9_tpl_site_blocker/

Reply 8 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

..for Code Theft

A former Goldman Sachs programmer convicted of stealing the bank's high-speed trading software was sentenced Friday to eight years in prison.

Sergey Aleynikov, 41, was convicted in December of theft of trade secrets and then unsuccessfully sought to have the conviction set aside. The Russian-born Aleynikov was ordered remanded in custody until his sentencing because he was considered a flight risk.

Prosecutors had sought 8 to 10 years, while Aleynikov asked for probation.

Aleynikov worked for Goldman Sachs until June 2009 when authorities say he siphoned source code for the company's valuable software on his way out the door to take a new job with another company. The software is used to make sophisticated, high-speed, high-volume stock and commodities trades and earns the company "many millions of dollars in profits" each year, according to prosecutors.

Aleynikov, a naturalized American citizen from Russia who immigrated to the United States in 1991, earned nearly $400,000 a year as a vice president with Goldman Sachs, but his new job with Teza Technologies would have paid him about $1.2 million. He was arrested in July 2009 at the Newark Airport in New Jersey as he returned from a trip to Chicago, where he'd met with his new employers at Teza.

Continued : http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2011/03/aleynikov-sentencing/

Reply 9 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

The web host to a PlayStation online forum moved Thursday to quash a subpoena connected to Sony's lawsuit against George Hotz, the man who released the first full-fledged PlayStation 3 hack.

SoftLayer Technologies, which counts psx-scene.com among its hosted sites, is objecting to a records demand seeking server logs and other information related to site-user Hotz. Sony is suing the 21-year-old New Jersey man on charges that he breached the Digital Millennium Copyright Act by publishing an encryption key and software tools in January that allow PlayStation 3 owners to gain complete control of their consoles.

Dallas-based SoftLayer is the only company so far to object to subpoenas in the hotly contested Hotz case. The judge has signed off on Sony subpoenas to Twitter, YouTube, Google and PayPal as part of the console-maker's scorched-earth litigation tactics to win an unspecified amount of monetary damages from Hotz.

Continued : http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2011/03/ps3-forum-subpoena-quash/#more-24549

Related : Sony wins subpoena for PS3 hacker's PayPal records

Reply 10 : NEWS - March 18, 2011

Microsoft yesterday urged users of older Office suites to install and run a complicated tool to protect themselves against ongoing attacks exploiting an unpatched bug in Adobe's Flash Player.

"For users of Office prior to 2010, the Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) can help," said Andrew Roths and Chengyun Chu, a manager and security engineer, respectively, with the Microsoft Security Response Center (MSRC). "Turning on EMET for the core Office applications will enable a number of security protections called 'security mitigations'," the pair wrote in a Thursday post to the company's Security Research & Defense blog.

EMET is a tool designed for advanced users, primarily enterprise IT pros, that manually enables ASLR (address space layout randomization) and DEP (data execution prevention) for specific applications. ASLR and DEP are two anti-exploit technologies included with Windows.

Continued : http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9214795/Microsoft_urges_Office_users_to_block_Flash_Player_attacks

I bought a used comp. tower, now I need to get it started.

The unit starts up, but it asks for a password and I don't have it.... so now what do I do ????? thanks !! uglyboat1@peoplepc.com

Reply 1 : I bought a used comp. tower, now I need to get it started.

Try google and this -> http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=how+to+reset+a+desktop+bios+password

Reply 2 : I bought a used comp. tower, now I need to get it started.

If you do not need anything off of it then look inside the case and there should usually be a small battery, this keeps the password and bios settings. Remove this for around a minute or two and then put it back in, Post back with the results...

Reply 3 : I bought a used comp. tower, now I need to get it started.

now the tower will not key the monitor ... the screen will not show the tower message ...soooo i feel this tower is now headed for the recycle dump... bye !!!!!

M11x R2 Newest Drivers

hi,



i searching for the newest drivers for my laptop, can anyone help me to find them?



the drivers in the dell site are very old.

Reply 1 : M11x R2 Newest Drivers

Assuming you're talking about video drivers, you can get them straight off of nvidia's website now for the R2. Here's a link.

Reply 2 : M11x R2 Newest Drivers

"The most recent driver is not always the best driver..."



M11xR2:

Drivers & Downloads



For the NV driver, as mentioned above, try the NV Reference Driver.

Reply 3 : M11x R2 Newest Drivers

NVIDIA's reference drivers don't play well with my R2. Dell's drivers combined with the latest Intel HD drivers work extremely well.

Reply 4 : M11x R2 Newest Drivers

i am using non dell provided nvidia and intel drivers because they're not up to date.

Reply 5 : M11x R2 Newest Drivers


Quote:








Originally Posted by BatBoy
View Post

"The most recent driver is not always the best driver..."



M11xR2:

Drivers & Downloads



For the NV driver, as mentioned above, try the NV Reference Driver.



OK, SO I SHOULD DOWNLOAD THE DRIVERS FROM THIS LINK? ARE THEY THE BEST?



AND ABOUT THE VIDEO DRIVERS, I DONT GET IT. SHOULD I DOWNLOAD THE NEWEST DRIVER OR DOWNLOAD SOMTHING ELSE?



AND ANOTHER THING, HOW I SHOULD INSTALL THE DRIVERS? DELETE FIRST THE OLD ONE AND THEN INSTALL THE NEW?

AND WHICH ORDER I SHOULD DO THAT?

Reply 6 : M11x R2 Newest Drivers

Do What Feels Right To You, In You're Heart.

Reply 7 : M11x R2 Newest Drivers


Quote:








Originally Posted by BRIGHI
View Post

OK, SO I SHOULD DOWNLOAD THE DRIVERS FROM THIS LINK? ARE THEY THE BEST?



AND ABOUT THE VIDEO DRIVERS, I DONT GET IT. SHOULD I DOWNLOAD THE NEWEST DRIVER OR DOWNLOAD SOMTHING ELSE?



AND ANOTHER THING, HOW I SHOULD INSTALL THE DRIVERS? DELETE FIRST THE OLD ONE AND THEN INSTALL THE NEW?

AND WHICH ORDER I SHOULD DO THAT?



did you forget to do something before you posted.....like turn off the caps lock?

Friday, March 18, 2011

Wow! A diet drink beats Pepsi Cola!

I know it's my favorite diet drink but never imagined it could beat a major sugared cola for popularity.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Diet-Coke-passes-Pepsi-to-apf-2971750957.html?x=0&sec=topStories&pos=4&asset=&ccode=

Diet Coke has topped rival Pepsi-Cola for the first time to become the second-most popular soft drink in the country behind Coca-Cola. It marks a victory for Coca-Cola Co. as its sodas now hold the top two spots, beating out its longtime rival PepsiCo Inc.

Diet Coke's rise reflects a long-term trend toward diet sodas. Ten years ago, only two of the top 10 were diet sodas. Now, four are on the list: the diet versions of Coke, Pepsi, Mountain Dew and Dr Pepper.

Coca-Cola sold nearly 927 million cases of its diet soda in 2010, to Pepsi's 892 million, a report by trade publication Beverage Digest released Thursday said.

Regular Coke remains far and away the most popular soda, selling 1.6 billion cases.

wind + d only on activte monitor

Hi, i have two monitors and only want to be win + d actually minimizing on the monitor where my mouse atm is.. so the active monitor only.



Is there a way to do so ?



using ultramon trial atm but couldnt find any option. Thanks

How to sort pivot table by value ?

Hi,

I have a block of excel data (Excel 2003) which contains client name, client a/c number, month and value.

I want to create a pivot with a/c number and client name for rows, months 1-12 as column heading and grand total for rows and columns.

So far, no problem, but I want the rows sorted not by a/c number or name, but by grand total of rows, so client with highest total for year is first in table, and client with lowest total is last.

Any ideas how to achieve this ?

Thanks for reading.

Reply 1 : How to sort pivot table by value ?

1. Copy the contents of the table to the clipboard.
2. Copy/paste values to another sheet
3. Sort the table on that other sheet.

You might like to record or write a macro to automate all of this.

Kees

Reply 2 : How to sort pivot table by value ?

I was hoping for a method that was 100% automatic, as each new months data is added, and the table refreshed, it would always have the highest value as the first row etc.

I tried adding 'Value' as the first field, as well as being the data field. This worked as long as no client had more than value, but as soon as they have values in two or more months, you get multiple rows for the same client.

Reply 3 : How to sort pivot table by value ?

arrow for the row label or name column ...click on 'More sort options'.....then click on 'Sort Ascending' or 'Sort descending', then select by count or sum of records.

If you add entries within the original spreadsheet rows...then update/refresh the pivot table should work like I think you want it.

Let us know.

VAPCMD

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Please help...Panasonic LX5 or Zs7 or other?

Hi. I would love some insight on this topic. I'm looking to (mega) upgrade from a little Fuji Finepix. The main purpose of this camera will be for my three month trip to France and Germany, beginning this April. I'm in no way a pro, and will be mostly shooting in auto-mode... but I'm still an artistic person and I want a camera with excellent photo quality, AND I intend to blow-up several of the pictures to poster size.

I love the 12x zoom on the Zs7... but it seems so many of features on the LX5 stand out: wider aperture for better low light, larger sensor, RAW ability, etc. However, it has such a small optical zoom! It's barely more than my ole Fuji. Is this very important? Is a 3.8 optical zoom enough for my trip?

I'm completely open to suggestions for camera purchases that are NOT these two models. I will buy any brand; I just want whatever will best meet my needs. I'm looking to spend $350 or less (but that can be used off of Amazon or E-bay.)

Any help/suggestions are greatly appreciated. wink

Thank you!

Jaclyn

Reply 1 : Please help...Panasonic LX5 or Zs7 or other?

Both cameras get a very high rating from people who own the cameras.
You can't go wrong with either one.

It boils down to; do you want a large zoom or do you want a camera that performs better in low light.

You can't have both, because of cost.
A 12X zoom camera with a f/2.0 lens would cost too much to make.

..

Monitor issues

guys, i just received my dell u2311 monitor but I am having trouble connecting it to my mbp. I bought miniDP->HDMI adapter + HDMI to DP cable but the notebook does not recognize the monitor. What can be the cause?

Reply 1 : Monitor issues

The first thing I would do is check to make sure the mini displayport to HDMI cable you purchased works. Then I would check to see if your HDMI to displayport cable works with another device. That way you know the issue won't be related to the cables you purchased but rather a setting on your display/MBP.



I had issues this morning connecting my 13" MBP to my Dell monitor at work with a 3rd party mini displayport to VGA adapter. The "trick" I used is that I plugged the adapter in (which was connected to my monitor) while my MBP was running. Mac OS X detected the additional display automatically. For whatever reason, it would not work if I plugged everything in before waking my MBP as Mac OS X would not detect the second display. I still get issues when I close my MBP's lid in that the computer goes to sleep (instead of staying on as I have an external keyboard and mouse) but it is better than what was happening earlier.



As a last resort, you could always buy a 6 ft (male) displayport to (male) mini displayport cable for ~$8 if it ever came down to that.

Reply 2 : Monitor issues

why would you convert to HDMI then back to DP? There are mini-DP to full size DP cables out there.

Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers

First off, i wanna say, it didnt run on my pc well. i could get it on low, but it was still slightly laggy so i rented it for the xbox. this doesnt effect my review about it, i shoulda checked my system reqs first.



Anywho, The game is about a group of resistance fighters fighting the KPA which are controlling san fransisco, and generally has the entire united states in a ruckus because for all intents and purpouses they are nowhere to be found (the U.S. Military that is). The theme of this game really caught me, it sounded amazing, the beginning was one of the most gritty well done opening scenes i have played. it really made me feel like i was there (minus the odd graphics). however, the rest of this game did not have the same feel.



the graphics were not good at all. (coulda been the xbox version, but the screenshots dont look much better) the people particularly looked horrible, It made it kind of hard too look at the characters. however, on the character note, they did do one character really right in my opinion: Conner Morgan. he was a very consistant character, one i really liked throughout the game. he was reckless, headstrong, but you knew where his loyalties lied and who he was trying to protect.



The missions were mostly well done, (minor spoilers here) however, there was a stealth mission where i got totally unimmersed. you could run like 4 feet behind a enemy and they wouldnt even turn around. it was really poorly done. however, most of the missions were very action packed and exciting.



A few more problems are just basic. the level design is not done well. you go from tight spaces to really large open areas very quickly, the enemies are dead eyes (i played on normal, im not used to getting hit with a rocket in the face the second i pop out from cover), and you get flanked VERY easily. not to mention, if you are by a ally, and an enemy sees you, he will completely ignore the ally. they ran past conner like 6 times to kill me when i wasnt looking. the final problem is the whole invisible wall thing. i wanted to move on, but there was always invisible walls blocking my path, i had to wait for my team mates to go first on vehicles, and it was just annoying.



overall, the story is decent, the gun play is mediocre at best, and the characters are good. the game was too short, its ending was ok, but it seemed like a rush job to me. they should have expanded it one more mission at least, if not make the campaign double the length.



the game took me a little over 3 hours and 30 minutes to beat. its very short.



i would give it a 4.75/10. if you havent bought it already dont. if you got metro 2033 with it, it was worth it. i would recommend it to rent if you have a console, otherwise i wouldn't bother till it hits 10 bucks.



edit: it should be noted, i did not play the multiplayer. not really my thing. i like left 4 dead and counterstrike for multiplayer

Reply 1 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers


Quote:








Originally Posted by joshthor
View Post

the game took me a little over 3 hours and 30 minutes to beat. its very short.



Yikes, the short single player is dooming.



This game has already dropped from the launch price of $59 to $49 and I've seen some deals online going for much less. Some people are going to lose their job over this one.

Reply 2 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers

Metacritic average hovering around 7, considering an earlier thread commenting on the stock price collapse of THQ after the game's release I don't expect this to be a best-seller.



Edit: Poor use of vocabulary.

Reply 3 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers

Stock Market Crash.. LOL



Try the multiplayer. It's the definite highlight so far of this game.



Deserves a 7 or 8 outta 10 so far.



X

Reply 4 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers


Quote:








Originally Posted by Harleyquin07
View Post

Metacritic average hovering around 7, considering an earlier thread commenting on the stock price collapse of THQ after the game's release I don't expect this to be a best-seller.



Edit: Poor use of vocabulary.



anywho, i just played the multiplayer, it was pretty darn good. i would give the multiplayer alone a 8.5/10. but since it definitely isnt what made me excited about the game it doesnt matter much to me. with multiplayer i would give it a 6/10 max.

Reply 5 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers


Quote:








Originally Posted by stevenxowens792
View Post

Stock Market Crash.. LOL



Try the multiplayer. It's the definite highlight so far of this game.



Deserves a 7 or 8 outta 10 so far.



X



I agree, the multiplayer is what really makes this game shine. And it is not buggy as I thought it would be compare to Black Ops/

Reply 6 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers

Homefront sold 350k+ games on the first day. Not too bad. If I were to get it, it would probably be for the multiplayer.

Reply 7 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers


Quote:








Originally Posted by Pluberus
View Post

Homefront sold 350k+ games on the first day. Not too bad. If I were to get it, it would probably be for the multiplayer.



It's reported that they need to sell 2m to break even. Dunno if that's just consoles or PCs too, or including the differing release day MSRPs.

Reply 8 : Homefront Review - Possible minor spoilers


Quote:








Originally Posted by Prydeless
View Post

It's reported that they need to sell 2m to break even. Dunno if that's just consoles or PCs too, or including the differing release day MSRPs.



Dang. If that's true....