Monday, April 25, 2011

HD Setup

I have a 80 Gig Maxtor drive I am trying to setup. The setup disk when loaded does not give me the option to format the drive. What am I doing wrong? The mother board is a Gigabyte, 2MM Ram, CPU 1.6 AMD

Reply 1 : HD Setup

Got an answer.
Thanks

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Dies ONLY when hot outside

We have a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee, 4.7L that keeps dying when it is hot outside. No warning, it is not overheating, there are no codes, and it doesn't matter what speed you're going. You can crank and crank and it will not start. You have to sit for 3-5 minutes on the side of the road, without cranking it and then it will start again. We recently just spent quite a bit replacing immobilizer, key sentry -still happening. We tried the whole screws of the computer thing that is posted in this forum - still didn't work. The thing is - it is ONLY during the hot part of the day. Never happens at any other time. Let me know what you think it could be. It's driving us crazy, and like so many of the rest of you, we're about to drive it off the cliff. PLEASE HELP!!

Reply 1 : 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Dies ONLY when hot outside

Maybe you should try seeing if the fuel pump is overheating. Does it still break down if your tank is more than half full?

It could also be a broken temperature sensor somewhere, but this is very unlikely. Its probably something that has to do with the fuel injection system.

Reply 2 : 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Dies ONLY when hot outside

It breaks down no matter how full the tank is. I was thinking it was the fuel pump too but am no mechanic. How would I go about finding out if it is the fuel pump that is overheating?

Reply 3 : 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Dies ONLY when hot outside

my 99 jeep does the same,cant be be the fuel pump,might be a sensor.the tran over heat light comes on.no clue any ideas?????

Reply 4 : 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Dies ONLY when hot outside

I have the exact car w/ the exact problem .... If u guys already fixed it plzlet me know what the problem is .. I know it wasn't the fuel pump cause i bought 2 new ones and it still turns of on me .. Plz someone help meee!!!!

Video lagging, but after power drain okay

Hi there,



I'm having video lagging issues with all games and also when I switch to full screen with flash player, minimized it is fine. But after I do the power drain trick it all goes back to normal, I am happy there is a quick fix for it but I'm wondering if anyone else is having these problems and if there is something I can do to stop this from happening.



m15x, i7-740QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 460M, Windows Home Premium 64 bit



I only bought this a bit over a week ago, video drivers are all up-to-date. Any help would be great, Cheers.

IE9 and Notebook review forums problem

I have been having a discussion with the admin of Notebook Review forums about an issue with IE9 and the version of vBulletin that is being used here. Specifically, when I click on the icon to go to the first unread message in a thread, I wind up back to the same message I read days ago. Sometimes this can be four or more PAGES back from the next to be read message.



The admin I spoke with is seeing the same issue, but it appears to be only an issue for IE9 users. I visit a few other forums that user the same software and don't have the problem there, but at least one of them is on the latest version of vBulletin. The admin indicated that the version here is slightly modified from the stock version and might be a contributing factor.



What I am asking of the folks here is,

1. Please ONLY respond if you are using IE9.

2. Please don't suggest your favorite browser as a solution. I am trying to find out why IE9 is reacting this way.

3. Tell me if you are seeing the same issue.

4. Tell me if you visit other forums using vBulletin and if the problem exists there. Making specific note if they are on version 3.6.4 (the version # always appears at the bottom of every vBulletin page)



Thanks for the help. I promised the admins here I'd compile and report back any findings.



Gary

Reply 1 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem

The only question from the ones you have listed that I can answer within the guidelines that you mention is whether I have experienced the same problems using IE9.



The answer to that is yes. I now use the "New NBR Style", which does NOT show the same problems as using the vBulletin version.

Reply 2 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem

I use IE9 exclusively and Ione not seen the issue here, but I have seen it at the Sister Site TabletPC Review.



I also frequent Pocketables.net and they use V bulletin and have had no issues there or at TabletPC Buzz another V bulletin site.



HTH,

Reply 3 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem

I'm using IE9, and have indeed seen this issue on NBR. FWIW, I also experienced this in IE8.

Reply 4 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem

SAme issue here Win 7 home - IE 9.0.8112.16421.

Thanks for raising this issue, I had been using search exclusively to find posts.





vBulletin default style

Reply 5 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem

OK for those of you seeing the issue, which "skin" are you using? On the lower left of every page, just above the vBulletin version number is a drop down box. I had been using the "vBulletin default style" since it minimized the number of ads, but I hear reports that that may actually be the culprit and if I switch to "NotebookReview Style" the issue will go away. I did so last night but cannot tell yet if this is a fix or not. I'll give it a day and report back.



Gary

Reply 6 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem


Quote:








Originally Posted by jnjroach
View Post

I use IE9 exclusively and Ione not seen the issue here, but I have seen it at the Sister Site TabletPC Review.



I also frequent Pocketables.net and they use V bulletin and have had no issues there or at TabletPC Buzz another V bulletin site.



HTH,



Which "skin" are you using here? (See my question above.)



Gary

Reply 7 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem

I've been using the vB default style as well. Will switch to "Ads Galore" and report back.



Edit: nope, just happened again in several threads with the new NRB style.

Reply 8 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem


Quote:








Originally Posted by ScuderiaConchiglia
View Post

Which "skin" are you using here? (See my question above.)



Gary



I'm using the V Bullitin default skin here and at TabletPC Review, which is the same as TabletPC Buzz and Pocketables.

Reply 9 : IE9 and Notebook review forums problem


Quote:








Originally Posted by Indrek
View Post

I've been using the vB default style as well. Will switch to "Ads Galore" and report back.



Edit: nope, just happened again in several threads with the new NRB style.



Truly the NEW NBR Style or just NBR style (two different options)??? I ask because try as I might I cannot select the "NEW NBR" Style at all.



Gary

Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder

Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder?



I added pic, so hope you guys can help me with correct mouse



Reply 1 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder

Razer naga would be your safest bet.

I own a lot of razer mice (naga, deathadder, copperhead, 2x boomslangs). The one I like the best is by far the Naga (the boomslangs are great aswell, but they are too big for your hand I guess)

Reply 2 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder

Look at the Orochi as well.

Reply 3 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder


Quote:








Originally Posted by bigspin
View Post

Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder?



I added pic, so hope you guys can help me with correct mouse






If your looking for a smaller mouse go with the Logitech g9 or even razer orochi. I had the same case as you and after having both razer Mamba and orochi I feel that the orochis much better on your hands.

Reply 4 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder


Quote:








Originally Posted by Simplified
View Post

Razer naga would be your safest bet.

I own a lot of razer mice (naga, deathadder, copperhead, 2x boomslangs). The one I like the best is by far the Naga (the boomslangs are great aswell, but they are too big for your hand I guess)



Naga is a lot bigger than Deathadder. He wants smaller.

Reply 5 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder

Thanks for the reply guys. I'll try Orochi.

Reply 6 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder


Quote:








Originally Posted by yupitchie
View Post

Naga is a lot bigger than Deathadder. He wants smaller.



Gaming 101: Razer Naga MMOG gaming mouse review.



Look at the comparison photo there. Naga is smaller than Deathadder. It has more buttons, but is smaller. You need a smaller device to be able to handle all the buttons it has.

Reply 7 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder

No offence, but haven't these topics been beaten to death lately?

Reply 8 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder


Quote:








Originally Posted by ZRock
View Post

No offence, but haven't these topics been beaten to death lately?



Isn't that the point of the Accessories forum? People have questions about what's a good mouse/keyboard/headset/whatever for them, so here's the place to ask them.

Reply 9 : Can anyone recommend gaming mouse bit smaller than Razer Deathadder

I understand that may be the point of the topic, and it helps to keep forum activity up, but it's that it is virtually the SAME posts over and over again. I wish I had kept ALL of my mice that I have cycled through (virtually the full razer/logitech lines since the MX518) and have them all side by side, it would knock out most of the "looking for a mouse bigger than x" posts . It just seems like it isn't NEW questions being asked, but rather the exact same ones over and over.

Jeep Cherokee 2000 lights problem

2000 Jeep Cherokee ltail ights and front parking lights and marker lights work on the passenger side and not the drivers side? Brake lights work and turn signals work all around. Bulbs are fine.

Windows Live Essentials did not do clean uninstall

I uninstalled Windows Live Essentials 2011 through Programs and Features. It left several folders in the Registry and Windows Live Mail on the HD. Although I own and granted permission for the Live Mail folders, these "trusted installer" files will not delete. After uninstalling programs in past OS, I have always gone into the Registry and manually cleaned out remaining files that were not uninstalled. I would like to do the same for the remains of Windows Live Essentials in the Registry, but because it has "Windows" in the name, I am reluctant to remove from the Registry...... I am not sure if it is linked to anything else. I have CCleaner, but apprehensive about using in the Registry.

Can some wise person let me know if I manually remove Windows Live Essentials and its family folders from the Registry the sky will not fall down plain (that said, I don't know if the trusted installer folders on the HD and in the Registry will allow removal)

My thanks......Miki
Dell XPS 8100 Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit
IE8

Reply 1 : Windows Live Essentials did not do clean uninstall

The registry doesn't update until after a reboot. Have you rebooted yet after the uninstall? If not try that.

If so, and the registry entries remain, I would be very reluctant to remove them. We all know how Microsoft integrates its components into the OS and into the registry, (viz, Internet Explorer), and while I don't see why this particular software should be so closely combined into the OS, I simply don't know.

Be sure you know how to recover from a fail if you remove those registry items and the system becomes unstable or fails to load.

With the folders it might be easier. I would just rename the folders temporarily and test the system for stability, and if you experience no problems after a few days, then they will be safe to delete.

Mark

Reply 2 : Windows Live Essentials did not do clean uninstall

There have been many reboots since I uninstalled Windows Live Essentials......appreciate your reply.......Miki

Reply 3 : Windows Live Essentials did not do clean uninstall

create a restore point if run it. I use it and registry mechanic for years and never had to use the restore point it created because they never damaged anything.
<div>

</div>

Reply 4 : Windows Live Essentials did not do clean uninstall

I am still somewhat skeptical about using CCleaner in the Registry, particularly when it is just as easy for me to delete something manually. Although CCleaner creates a restore point, my problem is I do not know if removing the files in question is advisable. Having said that, I would still have to make that decision even if I used CCleaner.

Thank you for replying.....Miki

Reply 5 : Windows Live Essentials did not do clean uninstall

.....on a Windows Live forum discussion re manually uninstalling Windows Live Essentials. It lists Windows Live Essentials files to delete from the Registry.
Another forum lists the directories to delete. Seeing these posts answers my question that the files are not linked to anything else. Having said that, I always feel better if I receive a "green light" from this Forum.

Miki

Reply 6 : Windows Live Essentials did not do clean uninstall

And a good test of other forum advice is if someone comes back with a report saying either, "It worked", or "You just destroyed my machine", happy

But from what you say, a 'green light' from me.

Mark

What SSD for M11X R3?

Anyone have any suggestions or know of any deals for a new 256 meg SSD for the new R3?

Reply 1 : What SSD for M11X R3?

Does the R3 have a 6Gbps interface? I'd recommend OCZ Vertex 3....

Reply 2 : What SSD for M11X R3?


Quote:








Originally Posted by tears
View Post

Does the R3 have a 6Gbps interface? I'd recommend OCZ Vertex 3....



Yes it does. I recommend the same.

Reply 3 : What SSD for M11X R3?

I was told SATA version 2? (and recomended the OCZ Vertex 2).

Reply 4 : What SSD for M11X R3?


Quote:








Originally Posted by lypse
View Post

I was told SATA version 2? (and recomended the OCZ Vertex 2).



The R3 supports SATA3, so there's really no point in getting a SATA2 drive when you can take advantage of the new interface.

Reply 5 : What SSD for M11X R3?

Get this one



Newegg.com - OCZ Vertex Series OCZSSD2-1VTX250G 2.5" 250GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)



No idea if it will work (it should), but its only $300 for 250 gig.

Reply 6 : What SSD for M11X R3?

Is there a link showing that it supports SATA 6GBPs? because I am VERY skeptical...



If it does, don't get some washed-up, has-been SSD like the OCZ Vertex 2. Get one that will actually use it.



Crucial RealSSD C300, for example.



Not sure if the Vertex 3 is on the market yet...?

Reply 7 : What SSD for M11X R3?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Zlog
View Post

Is there a link showing that it supports SATA 6GBPs? because I am VERY skeptical...



It has SandyBridge, therefore it supports it.

Reply 8 : What SSD for M11X R3?


Quote:








Originally Posted by roxxor
View Post

It has SandyBridge, therefore it supports it.



Based on this:



http://www.techinferno.com/2011/04/0...rvice-manuals/



and this:



http://www.intel.com/products/notebo...7-overview.htm



It does.

Reply 9 : What SSD for M11X R3?

It also "supports" gigabit ethernet, but it doesn't have that :P



I wouldn't spend the extra money on a SATA 6GB SSD until somebody proves it with a benchmark. just sayin.

Sunday, April 24, 2011

How do I unblock a website?

I have Windows 7, Kaspersan Anti Virus (that has been checked), Internet Explorer, att for browser.

I joined Weight Watchers and wanted to do the etools on line, but I finally can got on the site: www.weightwatchers.com, but when I try to log in the screen goes crazy, blinking on and off and then I just try to close it.

I don't have trouble with any other websites.

Any ideas????

Thank you - I'm going crazy!

Reply 1 : How do I unblock a website?

Why do you think it's blocked? It seems a quite normal page, albeit https. Do other https-pages work (like you electronic banking) work?

I'd try a different browser first. Firefox and Chrome are free to download.

Kees

Reply 2 : How do I unblock a website?

It's all fixed. It was a problem on their end.

RAM Upgrade Advice?

I'm planning on putting a small investment into my m11x, being that I want to add more RAM as that's the only thing that really could be updated (that I know of xD) anyways.



I was wondering if anyone knows if upgrading RAM would improve daily performance? I'm right now running on the stock 4GB that came with the machine and I find that maybe its time I invest a little bit more into this machine when I could do everything on it.



I'm just starting to use video editting tools, illustrator, photoshop and some simple design sketch tools. Mainly, gaming is a breeze as this thing can handle almost anything I throw at it, but with extra RAM I'm sure that it wouldnt hurt the experience!



However, this is where I need a lot of help as I don't know anything about memory. Is it even effective if I'm planning on upgrading to 8GB? Also, I remembering seeing some called "corsair memory" and such and they would cost a bunch as well. Do those improve performace significantly over simple retail ones? As you can see, my knowledge in this area is...laughable so if anyone is willing to help, it'd be greatly appreciated, thanks for reading!

Reply 1 : RAM Upgrade Advice?

Newegg.ca - CORSAIR 4GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 Laptop Memory Model CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9



Are these any good or are there better?

Reply 2 : RAM Upgrade Advice?

8GB is silly, I'd just stick with 4GB total.

Reply 3 : RAM Upgrade Advice?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Zlog
View Post

8GB is silly, I'd just stick with 4GB total.



Kind of agree. I'd only get 8GB if there is a really good deal

Reply 4 : RAM Upgrade Advice?

you dont need to get a faster pair of 4gb either because the m11x makes it run at a straight 800mhz. Or max of 1000 if you oc

Reply 5 : RAM Upgrade Advice?

Best performance gain would be to buy yourself a hybrid or solid state drive.

Reply 6 : RAM Upgrade Advice?

If you do a lot of photo/video editing, you may need 8gb ram. It is better to wait untill you really need it, in the future ram will be even cheaper than now

Reply 7 : RAM Upgrade Advice?

[quote=Simplified;7385213]If you do a lot of photo/video editing, you may need 8gb ram. It is better to wait untill you really need it, in the future ram will be even cheaper than now [/QUOTE



It could also be more money in the future too, Look at ddr 2 4gb sticks they are pretty expensive now even more than ddr3. which cost 80$ a stick..



Its always nice too have the ram there incase you need it instead of buying more ram when it comes time too and find it more expensive.



8gb ram really help me when i do my daily tasks also and with gaming which some games have memory leaks in it and will make my ram usage go over 4gb of ram and will crash too the desktop now with 8gb of ram it will not crash at all.



Yes i don't run any photo/video editing either.



Also my daily machine is my desktop in my sig.



For my m11x r2 i could say i could make it with ony 4gb of ram because i ony use it for my mobile computer, But i also got a good deal on outlet with 8gb ram so its nice too know i have it when i need it.



Every bit of ram helps

Reply 8 : RAM Upgrade Advice?


Quote:








Originally Posted by gordesky1


It could also be more money in the future too, Look at ddr 2 4gb sticks they are pretty expensive now even more than ddr3. which cost 80$ a stick..



DDR4 isn't scheduled to be released until 2015, and will take at least a year before it becomes mainstream, by which point we'll be talking about how awesome the m11x R8 is going to be.




Quote:








Originally Posted by gordesky1


Its always nice too have the ram there incase you need it instead of buying more ram when it comes time too and find it more expensive.



It's difficult enough to forecast your expected RAM need for the next year, nevermind how much RAM you expect you'll need 5 years from now when the price of DDR3 will go up.



This is not a good reason to buy more RAM.




Quote:








Originally Posted by gordesky1


8gb ram really help me when i do my daily tasks also and with gaming...



proof?






Quote:








Originally Posted by gordesky1


Every bit of ram helps



Myth. If you know you don't need 8GB right now (and don't know that you'll need it in the near future), then in all likelihood, you will not ever need it. Peoples' computer habits rarely change unexpectedly.



So as others in this thread have already said, a far better way to invest into the "perceived performance experience" of an m11x is to buy an SSD. And if 2 years down the line you all of a sudden need more RAM, then buy it then, as it'll be much cheaper anyway.

Reply 9 : RAM Upgrade Advice?


Quote:








Originally Posted by roxxor
View Post

DDR4 isn't scheduled to be released until 2015, and will take at least a year before it becomes mainstream, by which point we'll be talking about how awesome the m11x R8 is going to be.







It's difficult enough to forecast your expected RAM need for the next year, nevermind how much RAM you expect you'll need 5 years from now when the price of DDR3 will go up.



This is not a good reason to buy more RAM.







proof?









Myth. If you know you don't need 8GB right now (and don't know that you'll need it in the near future), then in all likelihood, you will not ever need it. Peoples' computer habits rarely change unexpectedly.



So as others in this thread have already said, a far better way to invest into the "perceived performance experience" of an m11x is to buy an SSD. And if 2 years down the line you all of a sudden need more RAM, then buy it then, as it'll be much cheaper anyway.





Well it also depends on a user, sure alot of people would be fine with 4gb or heck 2gb of ram, But there users that need more than 4gb for more stuff than just editing like myself.



Let me get some proof when i get some gaming in.



But heres some which isn't what normally what i use on my desktop which usely says 5gb too 6gbs.



http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/3267/capturepdu.png



As you can see i would be using up 4gb of ram which i was when i had 4gb and everything was sluggish, And if i didn't need it i wouldn't got it,



Which i needed it because i couldn't stay in a game which i name couple, Fallen earth is 1 which is a very heavy memory hog game when you run everything maxed out and 1920x1080 res which was even worser when i had eyeinfity and would crash under a hour and my memory was pinging at 4gb and was using page file and took forever too recover back too the desktop, 2nd one is apb when realworlds was running it i also had alot of crash's with that with 4gb maxed out and exiting the game was so slow. Theres more but not going too name all of them... lol



And i like too have all my stuff in the background when im playing my game too, And my desktop is running 24/7 steaming music and the more you pc is on it will eat more memory every day and the programs that runs on it.



But for my m11x yes i can get away with ony 4gb of ram because its not my main machine and i hardly do anything heavy on it but i got my m11x r2 in outlet which was already configured with 8gb with it and was the same price as 4gb m11xs which i got it for 819$ shipped.





All i know it helped me and my pc is running much better with it, And for ssd yes that also would help too but some people don't want too spend alot of money on them and for the small space they give, I have a ssd in my desktop 64gb but its ony for a boot drive which i have like 6tbs of hard drives for games and other stuff But me i never would put a ssd in my m11x because i need space and anything under 250gb ain't enough for me and the price of a 120gb+ ssd is crazy, But i might try a seagate xt.





I get some more screenshots when i play those games.

Graphics Driver

I'm running a GT 335M on driver ver. 266.58. Is there a newer/different driver I should be using for best performance/stability?



I know this is a dumb question, but, unlike BIOS versions, I don't see a sticky discussing graphics drivers. On that note, perhaps this is something that should be added to the forum (a thead exclusively dedicated to providing information about various graphic driver releases - download locations, issues, commentary, etc).

Reply 1 : Graphics Driver

267.67 Release Drivers



There are also 270.xx BETA drivers available.

Reply 2 : Graphics Driver

Ok, much thanks.

Reply 3 : Graphics Driver


Quote:








Originally Posted by DeeVu
View Post

267.67 Release Drivers



There are also 270.xx BETA drivers available.



Is this for R1 or R2?

Reply 4 : Graphics Driver

R2, but I think you can still use it for R1 if you don't mind it disabling manual switching.

Reply 5 : Graphics Driver

So this isn't hybrid? Once I installed this the GPU is enabled?

Reply 6 : Graphics Driver

Yes if you install the verde driver your GPU will stay on limiting battery life. (for the r1) for the r2 optimus still controls switching.

Reply 7 : Graphics Driver

Whats my issue... i can't get any of the video drivers to install and work on my M11xR2 Both Intel and Nvidia have a yellow bang.



Above driver does not allow me to install, fails the compatibility check. "The graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware."



Intel HD: "Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)"



Nvidia 335M: "This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)"



Right now when I try and adjust my Resolution the graphics option is "(Default Monitor) on" instead of Intel HD.

NEWS - April 18, 2011

Secrets put on internet in Whitehall blunders

Secret information from at least three separate government departments is available on the internet because of incompetent handling of sensitive material by Whitehall officials, The Daily Telegraph can disclose.

The Ministry of Defence, the Department of Health and the Department for Communities and Local Government have published sensitive documents online, but then failed to properly "redact" classified information.

As a result, information that is supposed to be hidden from public view can be read by anyone with access to a computer.

The Daily Telegraph discovered the security breaches yesterday after the Ministry of Defence admitted that secrets about Britain's nuclear submarines were obtainable from a government report online.

A technical error meant blackedout parts of the report could be read by "copying and pasting" its contents into another document.

Continued : http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/defence/8457506/Secrets-put-on-internet-in-Whitehall-blunders.html

Also:
How NOT to redact a PDF - Nuclear submarine secrets spilled
Ministry of Defence fails at redacting nuclear sub secrets
Redaction FAIL: Dull nuke sub document revealed in full

Reply 1 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

The founders of three of the internet's largest gambling sites have been indicted and charged with bank fraud, money laundering and illegal gambling offenses by US authorities.

Eleven individuals have been charged in total by the US Department of Justice with running operations that violated the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act of 2006.

Among those charged are executives from Isle-of-Man based Pokerstars, Ireland-based Full Tilt, and Costa-Rica based Absolute Poker.

The authorities have so-far arrested three individuals, all US citizens, and are working with international law enforcement agencies to arrest a further eight US citizens and foreign nationals in connection with the charges.

The individuals face a range of charges with different prison sentences and fines, while the US is also seeking at least $3bn held by the companies.

The feds have seized five domain names issued by the poker companies to their online businesses in the US, and have issued orders freezing 76 accounts in 14 counties. At time of writing, the Absolute Poker domain was among the domains seized.

Continued : http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/04/16/feds_online_poker/

Also: Major Poker Sites Closed, Founders Indicted

FBI - NY Field Office:
Manhattan U.S. Attorney Charges Principals of Three Largest Internet Poker Companies with Bank Fraud, Illegal Gambling Offenses, and Laundering Billions in Illegal Gambling Proceeds

Reply 2 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

The website of the European Space Agency (ESA) has been hacked into and a list of FTP accounts, as well as email addresses and passwords for administrators and editors have been leaked.

The www.esa.int Web server was compromised by a well known Romanian grey hat hacker who uses the online moniker of TinKode.

The hacker posted details of the compromise on his blog in full disclosure style. However, the method he used was not revealed.

The published data includes FTP accounts for a range of ESA subsites with passwords in clear text.

A list of database users with hashed passwords was also disclosed, together with the SHA1-hashed server root password.

The site administrator and editor credentials were exposed in plain text, as well as email addresses and passwords corresponding to website user accounts.

The passwords are in readable form, but TinKode took the measure of partially hiding them before publishing. There is also a list of associated proxy user names and passwords.

At the time of writing this article the www.esa.int website remains on line so it is not clear if the agency was alerted of the compromise in advance or not. TinKode is known for exposing vulnerabilities in high profile websites, the latest of which was an SQL injection in MySQL.com.

Continued : http://news.softpedia.com/news/European-Space-Agency-Website-Hacked-195487.shtml

Also:
Royal Navy hacker claims to have broken into space agency site
European Space Agency plays down hack impact

Reply 3 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

Graham Cluley @ Sophos' Naked Security Blog:

Dear Facebook,

As you know, for some years we have been discussing with your security team our concerns about safety and privacy on Facebook.

Every day, victims report to us numerous incidents of crime and fraud on Facebook. They have been personally affected and are desperate for advice on how to deal with the consequences.

A frequent refrain from users who contact us is, 'Why doesn't Facebook do more to protect us?'

We have identified three simple steps you can take to better protect your users:

1) PRIVACY BY DEFAULT

No more sharing of information without your users' express agreement (OPT-IN). Whenever you add a new feature to share additional information about your users, you should not assume that they want this feature turned on.

2) VETTED APP DEVELOPERS

It is far too easy to become a developer on Facebook. With over one million app developers already registered on the Facebook platform, it is hardly surprising that your service is riddled with rogue applications and viral scams. Only vetted and approved third-party developers should be allowed to publish apps on your platform.

Continued : http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2011/04/18/facebook-open-letter/

Reply 4 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

"Online dating site Match.com says it will begin screening U.S. users against a national sex offender registry."

Anyone who's used an online dating service has probably felt like they were being virtually "checked out," but Match.com is getting ready to take that to a whole new level. According to the Associated Press, the online dating service plans to begin screening its U.S. users against a national sex offender registry, after a California woman sued the company after saying someone she met through the service assaulted her. [Screenshot]

According to comments by Match.com spokesperson Matthew Traub, the company had been considering the screening option for some time, and is not a direct response to the new lawsuit against the company. The company says it had been considering the option for some time, and had only now decided to go ahead with it because of improvements to the database and accuracy of matching systems, although the screening will still be imperfect. The screening procedure will be implemented in the next two to three months.

Continued : http://www.digitaltrends.com/lifestyle/match-com-to-screen-for-sex-offenders/

Reply 5 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

After Android developer Justin Case reported on a Skype vulnerability for its mobile app, Skype's been vocal about its responsive actions towards addressing the security loophole. "We are working quickly to protect you from this vulnerability, including securing the file permissions on the Skype for Android application," said Adrian Asher, Skype's chief information security officer. But as of late Sunday, the Skype Mobile app for Android had still received no updates, and the company offers few details on when users can expect a full resolution.

If you recall, Skype's "privacy vulnerability" granted unwarranted access to private user info, including their username, chat records and contacts. Asher goes on to say that users should "take care in selecting which applications to download and install" on their smartphones, giving consumers a boost of common sense, but also deflecting some of Skype Mobile's responsibility in this particular case. Chet Wisniewski, a researcher at security firm Sophos, deems it smarter for consumers to simply delete Skype from their phones.

Continued : http://www.androidapps.com/tech/articles/7619-skype-tells-android-users-to-be-wary-of-app-downloads-no-kidding

Related: Bug in Skype for Android Could Expose Your Personal Data

See Vulnerabilities & Fixes: Skype for Android Insecure File Permissions Weakness

Reply 6 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

77% of 13-16 year olds and 38% of 9-12 year olds in the EU have a profile on a social networking site, according to a pan-European survey carried out for the European Commission. Yet, a quarter of children who use social networking sites like Facebook say their profile is set to "public" meaning that everyone can see it, and many of these display their address and/or phone number.

The figures highlight the importance of the European Commission's upcoming review of the implementation of the Safer Social Networking Principles for the EU. This agreement was brokered by the Commission in 2009 when major social networking companies agreed to implement measures to ensure the online safety of their under 18s users.

Neelie Kroes, Vice President of the European Commission for the Digital Agenda said: "Growing numbers of children are on social networking sites but many are not taking all necessary steps to protect themselves online. These children are placing themselves in harm's way, vulnerable to stalkers and groomers. All social networking companies should therefore immediately make minors' profiles accessible by default only to their approved list of contacts and out of search engines' reach. And those companies that have not yet signed up to the EU's Safer Networking Principles should do so without delay so as to ensure our children's safety."

Continued : http://www.net-security.org/secworld.php?id=10916

Complete Report: http://www2.lse.ac.uk/media@lse/research/EUKidsOnline/ShortSNS.pdf

Reply 7 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

From TrendLabs Malware Blog:

Facebook has expanded their number of offered services for its numerous users, making the site so much more than a place for users to interact. It has been said in several instances that Facebook is bound to replace email as a means of communication, as it provides a more convenient way for users to send messages.

It is this convenience that was leveraged by cybercriminals in a recent spam run we've seen, offering users to download an application called Facebook Messenger to make it easier for them to access messages sent to their Facebook account.

[Figure 1: Fake Facebook Notification] - [Figure 2: Download Page for Facebook Messenger]

The downloaded file named FacebookMessengerSetup.exe, is malicious and detected as BKDR_QUEJOB.EVL" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">BKDR_QUEJOB.EVL.

BKDR_QUEJOB.EVL opens TCP Port 1098 to listen for commands sent by a malicious attacker. The nature of the commands may include updating the malicious file, downloading and executing other malicious files, and starting certain processes. Furthermore, it also queries the system for information such as installed antivirus products and OS version, and then sends the gathered information to a certain SMTP.

The attack starts with spammed messages that appear similar to a Facebook notification. The email message alerts the user of a message sent to their Facebook account, and tells the user to click a link to view the message. Once the user clicks the message, however, they will see a download page for an application called Facebook Messenger.

Continued : http://blog.trendmicro.com/facebook-events-credits-and-passwords-being-used-for-attacks/

Reply 8 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

A senior Iranian military official says experts have determined the United States and Israel were behind a mysterious computer worm known as Stuxnet that has harmed Iran's nuclear program.

Gholam Reza Jalali says investigations by Iranian experts show that Stuxnet originated from the U.S. state of Texas and Israel.

Jalali heads a military unit called Passive Defense that primarily deals with sabotage. His comments were reported Saturday by Iran's official IRNA news agency.

Iran has acknowledged Stuxnet hit a limited number of centrifuges at its main uranium enrichment facility, the centerpiece of its nuclear program.

The U.S. and its allies accuse Iran of seeking to develop nuclear weapons, a charge Iran denies.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20110416/ap_on_re_us/iran_nuclear_virus

Also: Iranian general accuses Siemens of helping U.S., Israel build Stuxnet

Reply 9 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

Yahoo on Friday reversed course on its data retention plans, and said it will hold on to user data for 18 months rather than three months.

Citing a changing "competitive landscape," Yahoo said that starting in July, it will wait an additional 15 months to anonymize raw search data.

"We will be closely examining what the right policy and time frame should be for other log file data," Anne Toth, Yahoo's chief trust officer, wrote in a blog post. "In announcing this change, we have gone back to the drawing board to ensure that our policies will support the innovative products we want to deliver for our consumers."

These raw search logs can include information like IP addresses, Internet provider, or Web sites visited. After a certain amount of time, companies "anonymize" this data and delete things like IP address or other IDs associated with the query.

There have been concerns from privacy groups as to how this data is used. In August 2008 Congress got involved and asked providers like Verizon, AT&T, Time Warner, Comcast, Microsoft, Yahoo, and Google to provide information about how they collect and store information about Web users' Internet activity; a request with which they complied.

Continued : http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2383711,00.asp

Reply 10 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

Four months after a security researcher identified educational Websites that have been hijacked to redirect users to fake online stores, many of them remain unfixed.

Education and government Websites continue to redirect users to malicious Websites months after the hijacked pages were flagged in a report. Major search engines also continue to rank those pages high on search results pages.

A Zscaler researcher identified numerous hijacked domains belonging to government organizations and educational institutions in a report in January. A quick check of those domains revealed that some of them still redirect users to fake online stores selling discounted Microsoft, Adobe and Apple software, Julien Sobrier wrote on the Zscaler blog on April 13.

While "most of the domains" were cleaned up pretty quickly, Sobrier found that at least 68 domains from that initial list were still going to the same fake sites. The hijacked domains include major universities such as Harvard, Berkeley, Oklahoma State, Brown, Arizona State, Clemson, and Purdue. The Australian government's site at brokenhill.ses.nsw.gov.au was also compromised, according to Sobrier.

Continued : http://www.eweek.com/c/a/Security/University-Websites-Still-Redirecting-Users-to-Fake-Software-Sites-272259/

Reply 11 : NEWS - April 18, 2011

.. precedent

The Department of Justice has killed the Coreflood botnet. Using the courts, they replaced the command center of the botnet itself, and told the drones to halt operations. They did this with nothing more than a Temporary Restraining Order (TRO), some research skill, and a single command. So what does this mean for the typical citizen and cyber investigations? Did the FBI go too far?

By now, considering the extensive hype, most of the technical world knows of the FBI's success. For those only vaguely aware of the story, it starts with one of the oldest botnets in existence, Coreflood. The Coreflood botnet started out as a proxy service and DDoS-for-hire operation. In the mid-2000's, it moved on to financial crime, hijacking the usernames and passwords of bank accounts entered via compromised systems.

Like other Malware that steals financial information, Coreflood captured all the information needed to allow someone to access your online banking application and siphon money. Coreflood has been found in systems on college campuses, law firms, defense contractors, and small businesses. No one knows the exact total when it comes to money lost due to Coreflood, but the Malware infected millions of systems globally, so the financial impact is nothing to undersell.

Continued : http://www.thetechherald.com/article.php/201116/7073/Coreflood-Botnet-takedown-introduces-a-potentially-risky-precedent

Windows Update Error Help

I have just installed Windows 7 64-Bit Professional and updated all of the drivers, no issues there. I ran Window's update and all have been updated successfully. I have two updates remaining and when I attempt to update I get error codes. The two updates are SP1 and IE 9, the error codes shown are 80073701 and 3701. I have ran disc cleanup, renamed the C:WindowsSoftwareDistribution folder and attempted to update again with same error messages. I have downloaded the offline install files and still I have the same error message, can someone please point me in the right direction of the next steps to take to correct this and update Windows?



Forgot to mention I have tried a Hotfix found that states all future windows updates fails and etc. I have also tried a Microsoft Fix It for windows update. I tried the Fix It in the standard mode at first then in Aggressive mode. No Luck.

Reply 1 : Windows Update Error Help

Try using and then re-apply your SP1 update.



cheers ...

Reply 2 : Windows Update Error Help

I have found that as well and still no luck. It makes no sense everything updated perfect except those two updates.

Reply 3 : Windows Update Error Help

Have you used any utility cleaners such as Driver Sweeper? From what I read one of the older versions of that programs can clear c:windowswinsxs; thus preventing SP1 installation

(BTW I have 10 GIG in that folder ...)



The Driver Sweeper Saga



Hope this helps, Josea

Reply 4 : Windows Update Error Help

I have not used any cleaners before trying the updates.

Reply 5 : Windows Update Error Help

are you trying to install SP1 via the web or from a stand-alone installer?

Reply 6 : Windows Update Error Help

tried web first then tried stand alone neither work.

Reply 7 : Windows Update Error Help

Seeing that you ran the System Update Readiness Tool, could you check this log - and post its contents?



Also, if you have the Windows 7 Professional CD, boot from it and run its repair utility.





Everything that I posted, you can find the source here. I just simplified the instructions for your convenience.

Reply 8 : Windows Update Error Help

Tried installing IE9 separately from SP1?



Um, doing a quick search I came across a site that mentioned language packs...you said you downloaded all the updates but those two won't install. If you don't need the language packs you might want to try removing all of them and try installing SP1 again without the packs. And FWIW I personally would install IE9 first, by itself before doing the SP1 update.



Any other hints/error codes in Event viewer?

Reply 9 : Windows Update Error Help

This log - C:WindowslogsCBScheckSUR.log



Shows this:

Checking System Update Readiness

Binary Version 6.1.7601.21645

Package Version 11.0

2011-04-19 12:02



Checking windows Servicing Packages



Checking Package Manifests and Catalogs



Checking Package Watchlist



Checking Component Watchlist



Checking Packages



Checking Component Store



Summary:

Seconds executed: 201

No errors detected





When I try to do individually the IE9 doesnt tell me a reason it failed. SP1 tells me this:



Installation was not successful



-The referenced assembly could not be found



Error: ERROR_SXS_ASSEMBLY_MISSING(0x80073701)

Which partitions would you put on software raid0?

I'm impatiently waiting for my Alienware m17x r3 laptop to be delivered.



I went with this system primarily because of the 4 RAM slots and the two internal 2.5" drives.



Since the primary OS will be Gentoo, there will be a lot of compiling going on for software updates. ..



Here is what I'm thinking so far:



swap

/tmp

/var/tmp/portage (for emerge compiles)

/usr/portage (for quick emerge queries and syncs)

/mnt/virtualbox (this will be for virtualbox images)

/var/db (for eix queries and updates)





All these directories contain non-essential data that I can recreate if the raid fails .. also they contain things that will benefit (I believe) in IO improvements.



What would you put on RAID 0? What am I forgetting?



--- Additionally, should I consider SSD for one of the drives and bypass software RAID0 completely?

Reply 1 : Which partitions would you put on software raid0?


Quote:








Originally Posted by psymin
View Post

--- Additionally, should I consider SSD for one of the drives and bypass software RAID0 completely?



Yes. 100%.

Mint: XFCE vs LMDE

I was just curious how these distros are/how they compare. From my understanding, XFCE is more lightweight, while LMDE uses gnome. Is this true? Any other differences? Anybody run either of these and can share an opinion?



Thanks.

Reply 1 : Mint: XFCE vs LMDE

The new Linux Mint XFCE release is now based on LMDE. So, basically it's LMDE - Gnome + XFCE .



XFCE is lighter than Gnome but, like Gnome, is based on the same GTK libraries. In other words, your applications will look native whether you use Gnome or XFCE. Both are stable desktop environments. It just comes down to which one you prefer.

Reply 2 : Mint: XFCE vs LMDE

Can you give me a shortlist of the pros and cons of each? I'm not all that familiar with how they differ so I don't really have a preference.

Reply 3 : Mint: XFCE vs LMDE

All of the pros and cons will deal with the DE.



There isn't a whole lot of straight pros and cons for the DE's either. Try one and see how you like it. I like XFCE more then GNOME myself.

Reply 4 : Mint: XFCE vs LMDE

Like lupusarcanus said, you can't really compare DE's unless one is lacking severely in functionality, for example. The only differences between DE's are pretty much the default set of applications and how you interact with it.



The new XFCE 4.8 release is a huge improvement over the older XFCE 4.6 release. I'm not sure if Linux Mint XFCE includes version 4.8. XFCE is, by design, very customizable. That doesn't mean it's hard to use, though. XFCE is really straight forward while letting you change it to suit your needs.



Gnome's 2.xx releases were also very customizable, but with their new 3.0 release, they're aiming at new users and oversimplified things as a result (in my opinion). Many people complain about how little Gnome 3.0 can be modified. LMDE is based on Debian Squeeze, which contains the last Gnome 2.xx release, 2.32, and will probably continue to do so until the next Debian release.



You should download both of the DVD's and try them out for yourself. I live CD session is worth more than 1000 words . I personally use both XFCE 4.8 and Gnome 2.32, but I'm switching to only XFCE 4.8 because of the direction Gnome is heading.

Reply 5 : Mint: XFCE vs LMDE


Quote:








Originally Posted by chenxiaolong
View Post

Like lupusarcanus said, you can't really compare DE's unless one is lacking severely in functionality, for example. The only differences between DE's are pretty much the default set of applications and how you interact with it.



The new XFCE 4.8 release is a huge improvement over the older XFCE 4.6 release. I'm not sure if Linux Mint XFCE includes version 4.8. XFCE is, by design, very customizable. That doesn't mean it's hard to use, though. XFCE is really straight forward while letting you change it to suit your needs.



Gnome's 2.xx releases were also very customizable, but with their new 3.0 release, they're aiming at new users and oversimplified things as a result (in my opinion). Many people complain about how little Gnome 3.0 can be modified. LMDE is based on Debian Squeeze, which contains the last Gnome 2.xx release, 2.32, and will probably continue to do so until the next Debian release.



You should download both of the DVD's and try them out for yourself. I live CD session is worth more than 1000 words . I personally use both XFCE 4.8 and Gnome 2.32, but I'm switching to only XFCE 4.8 because of the direction Gnome is heading.



Same. I have been using Debian Squeeze + XFCE 4.8 for about 2 weeks now, and their are few bugs but overall it is much better than it was previously.



Xubuntu + XFCE 4.8 is so fast on my notebook, plus I love the fact Thunar is the default file manager -- IMO better than Nautilus.



I'm not sticking with Ubuntu or any distro that goes the route of Gnome3 or Unity. I have been looking at Xubuntu 11.04 and it looks GREAT. I think that's going to be my new main distro. I know the linux snobs frown upon Xubuntu but it really is a wonderful XFCE distro.

Reply 6 : Mint: XFCE vs LMDE


Quote:








Originally Posted by Linus Torvalds


I personally just encourage people to switch to KDE.



This "users are idiots, and are confused by functionality" mentality of Gnome is a disease. If you think your users are idiots, only idiots will use it. I don't use Gnome, because in striving to be simple, it has long since reached the point where it simply doesn't do what I need it to do.



Please, just tell people to use KDE.



Source.



I said nothing!

(I actually prefer XFCE, as I said before; but I was just emphasizing chenxiaolong's point.)

Thursday, April 21, 2011

NBA 2k11 with my M11xR2

has anyone tried this game with the m11? i am having extreme difficulty getting any decent framerates out of it, 17 being the best so far. I am by far no computer wizz, so was hoping you folks could help me out. I just got this computer last week.. my specs are:



geforce gt335m

4 gig ram

Intel Core i7 cpu @ 1.20 ghz which i overclocked in the f12 settings



i believe i have all updated drivers as well.



any suggestions? i tried running the game at the minimal settings, and still very low framerates =(

Reply 1 : NBA 2k11 with my M11xR2


Quote:








Originally Posted by Bearsfan217
View Post

has anyone tried this game with the m11? i am having extreme difficulty getting any decent framerates out of it, 17 being the best so far. I am by far no computer wizz, so was hoping you folks could help me out. I just got this computer last week.. my specs are:



geforce gt335m

4 gig ram

Intel Core i7 cpu @ 1.20 ghz which i overclocked in the f12 settings



i believe i have all updated drivers as well.



any suggestions? i tried running the game at the minimal settings, and still very low framerates =(



Did you try adding the nba2k11 game into the "whitelist"?

Reply 2 : NBA 2k11 with my M11xR2

Right click on the desktop-------> Nvidia Control Panel-----> Manage 3d Settings-------> Click program settings tab and add program then look for Nba2k11 .exe file located at C:--->Program Files (86)---> Steam ----> Steamapps----->Common-----> nba 2k11---->nba2k11 application

Reply 3 : NBA 2k11 with my M11xR2


Quote:








Originally Posted by Murdo119
View Post

Right click on the desktop-------> Nvidia Control Panel-----> Manage 3d Settings-------> Click program settings tab and add program then look for Nba2k11 .exe file located at C:--->Program Files (86)---> Steam ----> Steamapps----->Common-----> nba 2k11---->nba2k11 application



yep thanks Murdo, that fixed it lol. went from 17 fps to 120 fps on lowest settings.... went ahead and maxed everything out, and was getting 50-60 fps! guess ill have to remember to do this for every game now.



thanks again

Reply 4 : NBA 2k11 with my M11xR2

i dont suppose you play Day of Defeat Source do ya from steam? im trying to add the .exe to that game but i can only seem to find the shortcut, which wont work. Ive looked all over the steam folder for it :/

Reply 5 : NBA 2k11 with my M11xR2


Quote:








Originally Posted by Bearsfan217
View Post

i dont suppose you play Day of Defeat Source do ya from steam? im trying to add the .exe to that game but i can only seem to find the shortcut, which wont work. Ive looked all over the steam folder for it :/



If it is a source game it runs off that engine.. E.g you only need to white list HL2 to make the 335m work for Team fortress 2.

Reply 6 : NBA 2k11 with my M11xR2


Quote:








Originally Posted by Rustnever
View Post

If it is a source game it runs off that engine.. E.g you only need to white list HL2 to make the 335m work for Team fortress 2.



ok , thanks for the help!

Samsung Series 4 vs Thinkpad X220

Hey guys, I posted this in the Lenovo thread, and wanted to see what you guys thought of the little-known Samsung Series 4. (the 12.5" Sandy Bridge cousin of the Series 9)



Samsung Series 4: the Thinkpad X220 killer?

Reply 1 : Samsung Series 4 vs Thinkpad X220

Thanks for the heads-up and links about the Samsung Series 4. We will only know how good they are when some get into the hands of users and reviewers.



John

How/Where to download music videos?

I will admit, upfront, that I am a "weirdo". I was in my teens during the 1970's, and 1980's, so I love music such as Hall & Oates, Carly Simon, Paula Abduhl, Kenny Rogers, Depeche Mode, Dire Striats, and so on, and so on.

Recently, I have been lucky to find vieos of some of Hall & Oates Greatest hits, at Walmart.com, as well as a few of Stevie Nicks greatest hits.

My question is if there is a web-site where I can find my favorite artists music videos, and download them, through my home computer, to my new Samsung DVD writer. I would like to find a site where I can download the videos that I want.

IF such a site might include MOVIE downloads, especially among classic (black and white) movies, that would be a bonus. My main focus is music videos. I only mention movies in case there is a site where I can download both MUSIC, and movies.

Any suggestions????

Reply 1 : How/Where to download music videos?

usually all you have to do is google the question (such as I did), I came across this site right away
http://new.music.yahoo.com/videos/stations/Classic-Rock--7318731;_ylt=AtamzVRlcy05CCuMgemHuL80wSUv

See if it works for you happy

Reply 2 : How/Where to download music videos?

Take a look at Pandora, think you will find what you want.

Reply 3 : How/Where to download music videos?

Check archive.org. They've got legal downloads of old movies which have made it to the public domain.. They don't have every movie but you'll find good old stuff which you might like.. As just an example, they've got a Feature Film section at the link below:

http://www.archive.org/details/feature_films

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 4 : How/Where to download music videos?

This is a great site, saw some of my old favorites. Thanks

Reply 5 : How/Where to download music videos?

Download ZINC, you will find all sorts of things inclucing music videos, movies, etc.

Reply 6 : How/Where to download music videos?

Are you SURE that ZINC is the title?

I have put this into my search base, and all I come up with are links for the mineral ZINC.

Please re-verify the web-address.

Thanks.

Win 7 Installed Updates list is blank

List of installed updates is blank. How do I get the list to show the updates I have installed?

Reply 1 : Win 7 Installed Updates list is blank

My guess is a reboot or such.

Reply 2 : Win 7 Installed Updates list is blank

After a second reboot, it fixed itself. I'm guessing the first reboot after the IE9 install didn't take too well.

Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step

While I am waiting to receive me R3 I found this article online that is a very interesting read. It follows all the manufacturing steps a Dell laptop went through that the writer of the article ordered from placing his order over the telephone to when it arrived at his door. Just thought I would share what I found with you all. Cheers.



Here is How Dell Notebooks Are Made Step By Step - NotebookForums.com Community

Reply 1 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step

Good read, thanks!



My father is the Executive Officer of a logistics firm, so I know quite a bit of the business. Dell's supply chain seems nearly as responsive and well-planned as Wal-Mart's - which, regardless of what you think of the company itself, is the envy of the logistics and Supply Chain Management world.

Reply 2 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step

Wow, that's pretty impressive! It's a little humbling just how advanced and "cold" the process is. Here I was getting all emotionally involved in my R2 purchase, fantasizing to myself that "there aren't that many of these made, so this purchase must be a big deal to Dell" but in reality, I'm just another little ant in the world of Dell customers. Not that it's necessarily bad, mind you, as I like to see that new machines are going out all over, all the time. It restores my faith that America isn't dead yet. If the article is right, they are selling hundreds of thousands of machines (including all models) per week!

Reply 3 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step


Quote:








Originally Posted by VoiceInTheWilderness
View Post

Wow, that's pretty impressive! It's a little humbling just how advanced and "cold" the process is. Here I was getting all emotionally involved in my R2 purchase, fantasizing to myself that "there aren't that many of these made, so this purchase must be a big deal to Dell" but in reality, I'm just another little ant in the world of Dell customers. Not that it's necessarily bad, mind you, as I like to see that new machines are going out all over, all the time. It restores my faith that America isn't dead yet. If the article is right, they are selling hundreds of thousands of machines (including all models) per week!



I noticed you have a Razer Orochi BT mouse I just received mine and haven't tried it out because I am still waiting for my R3. How do you like it? Is it responsive enough to play games wirelessly? I am still wondering if I should return it a get something else. I hate having a mouse with too many buttons.

Reply 4 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step

Well, in short, yes I do like it quite a bit, but it took a little getting used to. It has response that is great, by my standards, but I'm not a big time gamer either. It has a little unobtrusive cord you can use if you really want super-duper response (I'm using it at the moment) but the Bluetooth link is fine for me the vast majority of the time. I think the Orochi is a little bit of a strange mouse, like it's somewhere between an all-out gamer mouse and a "regular" Bluetooth mouse. It's of very good quality, and I would buy it again if I lost this one, plus I like the blue LED in the scroll wheel. I'm kinda geeky like that.



EDIT: I forgot to mention, but it really matters to me for the feel of a mouse, but the Orochi's teflon feet are very smooth and glide better than any mouse I've ever had before. I've been through too many bad Bluetooth mice, and they are expensive with few to choose from, and this one is my favorite so far.

Reply 5 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step


Quote:








Originally Posted by TheProphetofDoom
View Post

I noticed you have a Razer Orochi BT mouse I just received mine and haven't tried it out because I am still waiting for my R3. How do you like it? Is it responsive enough to play games wirelessly? I am still wondering if I should return it a get something else. I hate having a mouse with too many buttons.



Why is that? More buttons at your fingertips = increased efficiency



After using my Logitech G700 mouse for just a couple weeks, I've realized how useful all of those buttons are, even for just browsing the web. I can't imagine going back to a standard mouse with only 5 buttons. And did I mention how comfortable it is? The buttons are perfectly placed, and the ergonomics of the mouse fits both "palm" and "claw" grippers. As I can't speak for other mice that have many buttons, I really recommend that you try out the G700.



I've also owned a number of Razer mice before, and I must say that the Logitech software (Setpoint) is a lot better than the Razer software that is included with any of the Razer products. The Razer software (which is necessary to access any features on the mouse) crashes often and is riddled with bugs.



I was also considering buying an Orochi awhile ago, but after doing a quick Google search, the Orochi seems to suffer from a horrible lag/sleep delay due to its power saving feature (in which you can't disable), and Razer hasn't addressed the problem whatsoever.



Here's a review on the G700: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/review...roduction.html

Reply 6 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step


Quote:








Originally Posted by Juanderful
View Post

Why is that? More buttons at your fingertips = increased efficiency



After using my Logitech G700 mouse for just a couple weeks, I've realized how useful all of those buttons are, even for just browsing the web. I can't imagine going back to a standard mouse with only 5 buttons. And did I mention how comfortable it is? The buttons are perfectly placed, and the design of the mouse fits both "palm" and "claw" grippers. As I can't speak for all mice that have many buttons, I really recommend that you try out the G700.



I've also owned a number of Razer mice before, and I must say that the Logitech software (Setpoint) is a lot better than the Razer software that is included with any of the Razer products. The Razer software (which is necessary to access any features on the mouse) crashes often and is riddled with bugs.



I was also considering buying an Orochi awhile ago, but after doing a quick Google search, the Orochi seems to suffer from a horrible lag/sleep delay due to its power saving feature (in which you can't disable), and Razer hasn't addressed the problem whatsoever.



Here's a review on the G700: Logitech Wireless G700 Gaming Mouse Review - Introduction



They have fixed the lag/sleep delay with a firmware update so that issue is no longer a problem. The dislike for too many buttons is just my preference.

Reply 7 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step

WOW ! that was great man. thanks for sharing ! repped !



the article was of 2005. I wonder if DELL had that kind of streamlining then what must they be doing now !

Reply 8 : Article about how Dell laptops are made step by step

Great read. I was left with two thoughts: Global economy and that's logistics.

remove delete option in OutLook Express

Is there a way to remove the delete option for emails so that they cannot be removed, password protection would be fine? Have a computer in the office that the users swear they did not delete emails when I know they were there

Reply 1 : remove delete option in OutLook Express

OLEXP has no such feature but you could turn the feature LEAVE MESSAGES ON SERVER so you can fetch them again.

If this issue is worth solving, is it worth paying for a better email system?
Bob

Reply 2 : remove delete option in OutLook Express

In short, if you give someone access to your email account, they have full access - granular controls do not yet exist. Thus, your only option would be to create a separate, password-protected Windows account, set up Outlook Express under that Windows account to access the email account in question, and then remove that email account under Outlook Express in the old Windows account.

John

Thanks 4 a really good redesign & all the bells and whistles

Most useful.

Rob

Need help setting a price to sell this computer:

Hi guys, I didn't know where else to look. Here is the run down:

El-Diablo Case

Intel Core?i7-950 Quad-Core Processor at 3.06GHz, 4.8GT QPI, 8M Cache

Vigor ArgonauticaTM CPU Liquid-Cooling System (Designed by Asetek) w/Single 120MM Radiator

Vigor Orion 900 900W Powered by Topower Multi-GPU Ready 900Watt Power Supply

Asus Rampage II Extreme Intel X58 Triple Channel DDR3 w/1600MHz/ Gen 2 3-Way SLI & CrossFireX

6GB Kingston KVR1333D3N9K3/3G CL9 DDR3 1333MHz Memory (6 X 1024MB)

500GB SATA II 7200 RPM Hard Drive

Geforce GTX 295 1.7GB

24X Dual Layer DVD+/- RW + CDRW Rewritable Drive

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic 64-bit w/Original DVD

Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatalty

Any help would be appreciated, as I would like to set a fair and reasonable price.

Regards,

Dane

Reply 1 : Need help setting a price to sell this computer:

You are competing against new machines with Windows 7 that have a warranty.

Try EBAY to get an idea on price.
Bob

Reply 2 : Need help setting a price to sell this computer:

Ebay is the way to go maybe $1300BIN and $900 auction.

Windows Vista and/or Ubuntu?

Hey, I own a HP desktop and was wondering if I should install Ubuntu to either replace Vista or boot along with it. I currently run on a Vista 32-bit OS.
CPU specs: AMD 64X2, 1900 MB currently available (plan on adding 1024 MB of RAM), about 280 GB, 2.6 GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 6150 SE graphics. My only worries are slowing down my comp and compromising it's overall performance. Any input is greatly appreciated!

Reply 1 : Windows Vista and/or Ubuntu?

You only run one OS at a time (multiboot, so when booting you choose which one to boot). So you can install Ubuntu next to Vista and choose when booting which one to use. This won't influence the speed of Vista in any way.

All you need: enough disc space.

Kees

Reply 2 : Windows Vista and/or Ubuntu?

You can use a VM to run multiple OSs concurrently. Whether or not that's a solution acceptable to the OP is something they will have to determine, but it is an option for running 2+ operating systems at a time on your average home PC.

photos

I put all my pictures onto a dvd just incase something happened to my pc, well they went on the dvd as a slide show, can anyone tell me how I can get them back or look at them as a snap shot again please.

Reply 1 : photos

Those pictures on the DVD are just files, they are not stored in any 'slide-show' or other order except they will be displayed in Explorer alphabetically.

What creates the slide show is the software you then use to view the pictures. You don't say what software you are using, but most modern software will offer choices of how to select/display images.

Mark

Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Question:

Hi. I have a desktop, which is more than six years old, running Windows XP Professional with the latest service packs. I also have a six-month-old laptop running Vista Home Premium, with 2GB RAM and a 200GB HD. I know the laptop is the better choice for this, but I am still fumbling on how to get this done.

Having taken a lot of hours of movies with my MiniDV Sony camera, I need to do two things. First, transfer the footage to DVDs. The laptop has a DVD burner built-in, so that makes it the better choice, again. And second, once I have transferred the footage, I will want to edit it.

How can I make the transfer as easy as possible first, to the laptop's hard drive, then burning the movies to DVDs? I am guessing that DVD-RW is the best medium, so that I can move things back and forth while I edit and refine the movies I have taken. Can you suggest the best ways to do these tasks? Move the movies from the MiniDV to the Laptop's HD, and then edit the movies. Thank you all, very much.

--Submitted by Alex H.

Here are some featured member answers to get you started, but
please read up on all the advice and suggestions that our
members have contributed to this member's question.

Converting your MiniDV to DVDs --Submitted by Watzman
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-10149_102-0.html?forumID=7&threadID=307400&messageID=2850659&tag=forums06;posts#2850659

Mini Digital Video (DV) to DVD--Submitted by surfingtheweb
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-10149_102-0.html?forumID=7&threadID=307400&messageID=2851235&tag=forums06;posts#2851235

First the basics--Submitted by slappie
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-10149_102-0.html?forumID=7&threadID=307400&messageID=2852885&tag=forums06;posts#2852885


If you have any additional advice or recommendations for Alex, please click on the reply link and submit it. Please be as detailed as possible in your answers. Thanks!

Reply 1 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Hi Alex,

Can you give a little more info? Specifically, what are the specs on the desktop, the laptop, what kind of ports do they have (USB, Firewire, PC Card, etc.), and does the MiniDV camcorder have a firewire port (most do, but you never know).

Reply 2 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

"Hi. I have a desktop, which is more than six years old, running Windows XP Professional with the latest service packs. I also have a six-month-old laptop running Vista Home Premium, with 2GB RAM and a 200GB HD. I know the laptop is the better choice for this, but I am still fumbling on how to get this done."

Put a good DVD Burner on the desktop and add a large HDD for storage, RAM if you need it. Now all you need is The USB connection from the camera to the computer so you can transfer the movie files, and a good editing program to edit your movies. There a number of good editing programs available like VideoStudio 11 or Pinnacle or any number of others.

This is just personal: I hate Vista. I have upgraded numerous machines for friends and family from Vista to WinXP Pro. I have a friend who has his own computer business and retail site, he teaches computer stuff to others and does computer repairs and upgrading in half of Oklahoma, and he switched his machines over from Vista to XP Pro, also. If it were mine, I'd do the same to your laptop and have a much better machine. Again, that's just personal stuff.

Reply 3 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

helloo...
transferring or capturing miniDV to Laptop then burn it to dvd, may as a simple as we think.. hehe
i used to use sony vegas 6.0 to do that job, transfer from camera to laptop then edit..then render it to mpeg2..
after that, we can burn it to dvd with other software, e.g nero(specially nero vision express), dvd architect, or other burning program..

why i used to edit by sony vegas, coz its the friendliest editing software to ur laptop, hehe i think.. u can edit anything you want, cropping, coloring, or even mastering the audio, without loosing power/energy ur laptop.. ehhehe
n if ur interest.. with vegas u can use network rendering, i mean if u in a hurry, u can use three laptop at the sometimes to render the video..
just share,, sorry such a bad english huh?

Reply 4 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Alex, the thing you have not told us is whether or not either one of your computers has a Firewire port to connect the camcorder to. This is the only way to transfer digital video from a MiniDV camera to your computer for editing. This has to be a factory built in option on your laptop. On the desktop PC you can buy a card for about $30 to $40 to add the capability. Oh - note that Firewire is also called IEEE-1394, and iLink by Sony.
Assuming you have the right connection, Windows XP includes "Windows Movie Maker" which is very basic editing software, and I am sure Vista includes something similar. Other low cost editing programs are available, but all will work in a similar manner. You will copy video from the camcorder to the camera, ending up with multiple video clips that you then edit into your finished "movie".
The big issue for you will be that it takes 1 hour to copy 1 hour of video to the computer, AND each hour of MiniDV footage will take 13GB of hard drive space.
Due to the size of the footage, even a single MiniDV tape would take 3 DVD-R or DVD+/-RW discs to store! Once you "encode" the video to a DVD, its no longer in an editable format unfortunately. The DVD encoding process to produce a 2 hour video DVD on that 4.7GB DVD-R disc is lossy, and the video has to be extracted, again very time consuming, if you want to ever do anything with it again - and that is at a loss of quality.
Your long term best bet is to purchase a large hard drive - I use a firewire hard drive that I can daisy chain with my camcorder, and I use it for most of the video capture and editing. This way you do not fill up your main hard drive with video. (Note that most USB drives will not sustain the throughput to capture video - firewire can). Edit and work on your projects, and when finished, burn your finished DVD, and then delete the big 13GB worth of raw footage. If you ever need it again, you can get it from the original tape.
I hope all this helps. Good luck!

Jim

Reply 5 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Why not burn 2 copies (sets),and store the second- by the time you will need to record again, and by today's standards your PC may look like a betamax the next time you need to do this - when you really think about it.

And youngsters will forward to asking, "What's was a mouse used for?"

Reply 6 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

"This has to be a factory built in option on your laptop."

If your laptop has a PCMCIA port (as most laptops I've seen in the last decade), you can add firewire. It costs a bit more than it does to add a card to a desktop but it is certainly "doable".

Reply 7 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Invest in Scenalyzer Live to capture your video.

I've used it for years instead of the packaged capture programs in Premiere et al. It's inexpensive, portable, tight and clean.

Then you can cut, edit and do whatever you want.

Look at

http://www.scenalyzer.com/main.html

Reply 8 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

i think that,,,, the easiest way to transfer the dv ,have to use the ULEAD VIDIODSTUDIO EDITOR and follow the instructions, but it takes longtime.

Reply 9 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I think this is pretty easy. Windows Movie Maker (free from Microsoft) will play your movie from the camera and then transfer it to your hard disk IF you camera is not too old and has firewire or mini-USB connectors.

1. Make sure the camera is on the charger (or has a fully charged battery).

2. Turn on the video preview mode, and cable the camera to your notebook. Wait for the usual new hardware messages to stop.

3. Open MovieMaker and select Import, From VideCamera from the top of the menu choices. Voila!

4. Moviemaker can then be used as an editor if you wish, and also to publish the files in a variety of formats.

Reply 10 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Like, how?
It's not a separate program. It's part of XP professional.

Reply 11 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

A 5 second Google search resulted in...

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/updates/moviemaker2.mspx

I've used both Movie Maker 1 and 2 and they work well.

Reply 12 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Good Link.

It is part of Windows XP Home, W/ SP2.
It's in the SP2 Update, it CAN also be downloaded seperately.

Movie Maker 2.1 is available for download with Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2).
You can also download SP2 and Movie Maker 2.1 from Microsoft Update. If you cannot use Automatic Updates or download SP2 via Windows Update, order a CD.

Reply 13 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

you said a variety of formats from Movie Maker. That is what I am looking for. And please explain each format and hot its used.

Thanks !

Reply 14 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I can use the program(Multimedia Navigator)that the JVC came with to do what I thought was transferring and editing, but I can't use Win Movie Maker because my comp doesn't detect the camcorder.
Suggestions?

Reply 15 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

There are a couple of different ways to transfer DV to your PC.

The best way is to use a hardware video capture card and video capture software. Plugging a device into one of the inputs and turning it on causes Windows to open the video capture/editing software.

If your PC has a Firewire port, youll want to use it for digital video transfer. This is the most desirable method as it keeps the video in a digital format start to finish. You can use the RCA (Composite) jacks but you will be converting the camera's digital data into analog to use this connection, then back into digital on the PC, and this will affect the picture quality.

For software I use InterVideo WinDVD Creator. Ive found it to be a very powerful tool and easy to use, but there are many options (Pinnacle, Ulead, etc., features and prices vary widely). You can add video, stills and music to the storyboard, and then add titles and transition effects. There are options for editing and stretching both the audio and video, capturing stills and setting the length of time a still frame is shown. Once youre satisfied and are ready to burn it to DVD or a file, the software will render your project into whatever output format you choose.

If you don't want to install a video capture card, you can purchase an RCA to USB video capture device that will come with drivers and capture software for about $40.

One last thing. Video editing and rendering is time and resource consuming. For instance, recording a 1 hour tv show on my pc uses about 6 Gigabits of disk space (DV tapes (avi files) are even larger). Editing that same show ie: trimming out comercials, taking snapshots or screen caps of the video to use on the title pages, etc. can take quite a while, depending on how Spielbergesque you want to get, and finally the rendering and burning to DVD part of the process takes about one and one half hours for every one hour of video.

Also, you need a pretty high end machine to have the processing power and speed to create good videos, and even then you'll need to stop every other process, including your antivirus software, before you begin. The most common problem encountered is choppy video or audio in the finished product. This can be quite frustrating if you've just spent 4 or 5 hours working on it.

Hope I didn't scare you off. It can be a lot of fun, and you can really turn out some slick productions.

Reply 16 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I took a wedding video on my Sony MiniDV, during the first dance of the Bride and Groom (It was a waltz) I turned the camera to get a full length video, then turned it back, now you have to turn the moniter during the video to see that portion correctly. When I experimented with editing ( I didn't get too far, but I bought the Adobe Premier Elements, Pinnacle Studio Media Suite10.5, Sony Vegas Movie Studio, and My Book external hard drive.)I was able to turn a frame sideways and there was a black area and it was a different proportionally from the other frames. I never succeeded in getting it edited. I tried for a month, I quit and plan to try again. Someone told me you are not suppose to turn the camera and the MiniDV movies are not made to edit. Can the rotation of the frames be successfully edited into the video and burned onto a DVD?

Reply 17 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

The way I would rotate your video clip which is the wrong way round (an unneccisary time consuming thing and I wouldn't recommend it again happy is the following:
In Premier, import the clip into your project (file - import)
Drag clip into the timeline and click on it to select it. Use the razor tool ( if you don't know where this is in the tools panel, hover over the icons until you get the razor tool)to cut the clip from the time you rotated the camera. Cut it again at the end of the rotated section. You will have created a portion of the clip which can be edited independantly of the other bits of your footage. Select that portion, and in the source panel at the top open the effects panel. A rotation menu will allow you to rotate the clip. Make sure that your marker (playhead) in the timeline panel is at the beginning of the clip, since I dont know what your defaults are. This will ensure that the rotation starts at the beginning if the clip. Hope this helps.

Reply 18 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Alex,

This is fairly straightforward, actually. And while you have mini-DV, it really wouldn't matter what format of camcorder you had as long as we were talking about a digital camcorder (coming from an analog camcorder is different and requires some different hardware).

Most digital camcorders have a Firewire (sometimes known as IEEE 1394) interface. Most modern computers, especially laptops, also have a Firewire interface. If not, your first task is to get a Firewire interface for the target computer. If necessary, this is an independent task that is not directly related to the video task. You may also need to get a suitable cable (4-pin, 6-pin or possibly 6-pin on one end to 4-pin on the other).

[Some camcorders will have USB interfaces instead of or in addition to a Firewire interface. If so, fine, but in many cases the image quality from the USB interface (if there is one) will be inferior to that from the Firewire interface.]

You will probably next need to install Windows drivers for your camcorder on your PC, so that the camcorder will be recognized by the PC when they are connected. The drivers should have come with the Camcorder, or should be available on the web site of the camcorder manufacturer.

Finally, you will need to install some video editing software that can capture the video from the camcorder and also allow you do some editing. To some extent, this depends on the video format that comes out of the camcorder ... it may be Uncompressed AVI (actually the best format for editing in SOME ways, but the files are HUGE (more than 10 GIGABYTES per hour), it may be MPEG or it may be MPEG2. In a few cases, it may be yet something else. The video software has to be able to deal with the file format that is output by the camcorder. It's likely that most video software will work with most camcorders, but it's something to be aware of as in some cases it may limit your choice of software. Again, it's very possible that such software came with the camcorder. You can also use Microsoft Windows Movie Maker, or you can buy a product like Pinacle Studio that has this capability. Another thing to note for the burning step (below) is that the full retail versions of the two major CD & DVD burning programs (Roxio (now Sonic) Easy Media Creator and Nero) both have all the software that you will need in most cases, but in neither case is their editing software necessarily the best available.

Whatever software you select, this software will need to let you get the video from the camcorder and save it on the PC as a file (the file size will be large, gigabytes per hour probably and in some cases tens of giabytes per hour). That completes the first step.

The next step is to edit the video into your desired content. This is entirely a function of the video editing software that you use. Simple software (Windows Movie Maker) can do cut and paste; more complex software can do eleaborate video production with multiple video streams being merged, often with "chroma key" (blue or green screen used to put part of one video stream (often a person) "into" another video stream). There are a lot of choices here, with a wide range of cost and a wide range of ease of use.

Finally, you need to do DVD authoring, which is where you will (if you want to) create "menus" and "chapters" for putting the video onto a DVD. Some of the major editing software packages (Pinacle) have both the video editing and the DVD authoring functions built-in, while in other cases you will use one program for video editing, and another program for DVD authoring. For example, Windows Movie Maker, which has reasonable cut-and-paste video editing, does not, by itself, have the DVD authoring capability. But Pinacle, and the Roxio and Nero products, do have both editing and DVD authoring. The final step of DVD authoring will actually write the DVD from the video. Note that if the video has to be re-encoded into MPEG2 (very likely) this step can take a LONG time (hours; on some computers, more than 12 hours for a one- or two-hour video).

I hope that gives you an overview of the process and what is involved. Look for some user reviews of the available software packages. In general, there is a very large trade-off between capabilities and ease-of-use, but most people are only looking for simple "cut-and-paste" editing and not for the capabilities that would in used by commercial video production applications.

By the way, do NOT use DVD-RW media. I don't recommend RW media (either CD or DVD) for ANYTHING. It is not a good archival media and precisely because such media is not "permanent", sometimes data written to such media "fades" over time (I will accept both that it should not happen, and that if it does, it's because the hardware was defective ... that doesn't matter ... it DOES happen, too often). On top of the RW media is slow to burn and expensive. With CD media at about a penny per disc and DVD media at about 20 cents per disc, just use one-time media, and if you want to redo the project, use a new media. It's cheap enough that the cost just shouldn't be an issue, and it's faster (a lot faster), cheaper and more reliable and permanent than RW media.

Reply 19 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I agree with almost that Watzman wrote, but I would added that it should be useful to have a dedicated HD for capturing and editing video procedures, since this HD won't be subject for the constant windows scan/updating that can interfere with the software in use for such tasks (mainly in the capturing process). In this way, I have a 2nd 80 Gb HD as the target device for capture. Before the editing and DVD burning process has been completed, I simply delete the file I had created and so my HD is again ready to another convertion.
Finally, I'd beg your pardon for any writting mistakes, since English is not my native language.

Reply 20 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Before the editing and DVD burning process has been completed, I simply delete the file?

Reply 21 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I' m sure he meant "after" rather than "before"

Reply 22 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Quote "[Some camcorders will have USB interfaces instead of or in addition to a Firewire interface. If so, fine, but in many cases the image quality from the USB interface (if there is one) will be inferior to that from the Firewire interface.]"

That comment is Just Not True...................Particularly now that most modern USB connections are USB2 !!

Reply 23 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Absolutely correct...using USB has no effect on DIGITAL video quality. It will be a slower download due the constraints on speed of USB vs. Firewire but it's all "1's and 0's" either way and there will be no degradation in video quality. I also agree that you do not want to use RW discs of either format (+ or -) as you don't EVER want to accidently overwrite something like a home movie!! Regular DVD's are typically less expensive anyway so go that route. I work at a TV station and use Final Cut Pro as my editor so I cannot speak to any of the consumer or prosumer editing packages but a bit of net research should lead you to something that will work well for you. Best advice I can give is to not be intimidated. Once you play with it for a bit, it'll become as easy (and enjoyable) as anything you've ever done on your computer. It is very satisfying to succesfully edit a project!!

Good luck!!

Reply 24 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

True, 1's and 0's are 1's and 0's. BUT, with my older JVC Mini-DV camera, the only way to utilize the USB interface is utilizing the software that came with the camera. When you do so, you you get hugely compressed files (AVI's if I remember right) in a resolution that's along the lines of 320X240. So, in this way, yes the USB becomes inferior. Perhaps something like that is what the original poster of that response was referring to.

Reply 25 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

If you buy the Pinnacle software package, it will have ALL the software you need. Once your camera is connected to the FireWire port, Pinnacle can transfer the video to the PC. You can edit with the excellent Pinnacle software, and then Pinnacle can burn the final DVD. In my experience, you really don't need any other software.

Reply 26 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I noted you had some "older" pc equipment; just a caution that Pinnacle is not very compatible. I use it all the time and also highly recommend it, but my current version 9.4.3 cannot be upgraded. I tried 10.5 and 11 and neither would install correctly. It is common advice for Pinnacle users to attempt installation many times, which I did, & still no luck. My pc is an Intel Celeron 2.93GHz/WinXP-SP3. Also note that this software goes on some really awesome sales with rebates.
Finally, a general tip if you are going to burn the whole tape to DVD; use scene detection, it will be way easier to import only the files you want into an editor.

Reply 27 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

Question for Senior Slacker: I have an early version of Pinnacle (8) and wonder how you deal with the following situation:
I captured a video from my camcorder and in the Edit mode I moved the video scenes to the story board - after moving all the video clips I then wanted to add some photos - to my disappointment I was only able to include 1/3 of the photos I wanted. The story board windows or whatever they are called were all filled (total of 27)and I could not determine a way to add more story board windows or more photos.

What am I not doing correctly?

Thanks for any insights,

Frank

Reply 28 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I have an early version of Pinnacle (8.12) and wonder how you deal with the following situation:
I captured a video from my camcorder and in the Edit mode I moved the video scenes to the story board - after moving all the video clips I then wanted to add some photos - to my disappointment I was only able to include 1/3 of the photos I wanted. The story board windows or whatever they are called were all filled (total of 27)and I could not determine a way to add more story board windows or more photos.

What am I not doing correctly?

Thanks for any insights,

Frank

Reply 29 : Easiest way to transfer MiniDV footage to PC and edit it

I save all pictures & vids to that format. Those discs have a life of 250 years, noted by all Experts.